Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I absolutely adore this soup. I usually double or even triple the recipe. In the winter, I usually add a little shredded cheese. I also make it without chicken and use vegetable stock for lunches in the summer, so we can have a healthy dose of our veggies. It's an unexpected combination (the almonds with the veggies and barley) that is delicious and leaves you very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
even my husband loved it! the only change i made was no mushrooms (i had none), compensated for that by adding a little extra potatoes & carrots. then i had to add extra broth (i used my own homemade, simmer-all-day broth). i served it with grated parmeson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adeline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mitte
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I followed another reviewers lead and added parmesan when I served it. Yummy! I think next time I'll add some white wine at some point to the recipe. I would call this a refrigerator door recipe. It was a nice way to use up any veggies that were about to go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This was terrific. Very easy and quick. I added more garlic, carrot, celery, and browned my chicken. I also used pearl barley and cooked it for a while in chicken stock prior to adding. I did not add butter. Served this for our Soup Group and got rave reviews. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
great subtle flavors and stick to my ribs hearty. It is one of my winter favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was very good! Even my husband liked it, who doesn't really care for soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stay@homemom84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made it last night (40 degree outside) and it was a great comforting soup for a cold night. I did browned my chicken together with the onion and garlic. Otherwise, I pretty much follow everything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaoMao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is a wonderful hearty soup. The roasted slivered almonds are a nice touch and add lots to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I would give this 10 stars if I could. This was very tasty. I did not have mushrooms or celery in the house so I left those out and I threw in about a tsp of kosher salt with the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Very yummy. I used lentils instead of barley (only because I had it on hand). This was an easy, filling meal. Perfect for cold nights, and even yummy reheated the next day for lunch. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States