Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This was terrific. Very easy and quick. I added more garlic, carrot, celery, and browned my chicken. I also used pearl barley and cooked it for a while in chicken stock prior to adding. I did not add butter. Served this for our Soup Group and got rave reviews. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I absolutely adore this soup. I usually double or even triple the recipe. In the winter, I usually add a little shredded cheese. I also make it without chicken and use vegetable stock for lunches in the summer, so we can have a healthy dose of our veggies. It's an unexpected combination (the almonds with the veggies and barley) that is delicious and leaves you very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe was kind of bland so I had to add some herbs. It is a good basic recipe that you can edit to suit yourself so I gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is very warm and comforting. If you like mildly seasoned food then you will like this recipe. It reminds me of a homemade chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
great subtle flavors and stick to my ribs hearty. It is one of my winter favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was very good! Even my husband liked it, who doesn't really care for soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stay@homemom84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made it last night (40 degree outside) and it was a great comforting soup for a cold night. I did browned my chicken together with the onion and garlic. Otherwise, I pretty much follow everything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaoMao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is a wonderful hearty soup. The roasted slivered almonds are a nice touch and add lots to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I would give this 10 stars if I could. This was very tasty. I did not have mushrooms or celery in the house so I left those out and I threw in about a tsp of kosher salt with the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Top this soup with Parmesan cheese, sit back and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States