Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This recipe was very easy to make and add to as well. I added grean beans and chopped green pea pods, as well as some seasoning salt, thyme, dried basil & sage.I also had to use regular dried barley since that's all I had, & I just cooked it a bit longer. My hubby loved it, which is nice for a change 'cause he's a picky eater. I think I will keep this in my reportois for the next time I need an easy fix. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desiree79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I left out the mushrooms and added more veggies and barley making it more of a stew than a soup. It's great. The almonds give it a wonderful crunch and depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made a batch of this soup last night and was it ever wonderful! The toasted almonds were an especially interesting, crunchy addition. Great flavor and very hearty, stick to the ribs fare. Highly recommend it for a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Caster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gutti
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
The complex flavors are amazing. This is a new favorite in our home. My wife and I LOVED it. I doubled the recipe & substituted spinach for parsley. I toasted the almonds on the stove in a skillet (faster, just gotta keep a good eye on em) i used homemade chicken stock. added a zucchini halved and sliced into the pot near the end. For mushrooms: white button, portabella, and shitake. I've never had a homemade soup taste this good. and the almonds ... i would never had expected such a layer of flavor. they really do go perfectly in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gutti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I thought the flavor of the soup was bland. It definitely needs spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I LOVE this soup! I've made it several times. It's my favorite new mama dinner gift-barley is great for milk supply and with the chicken and veggies it's a super nutritious soup. I do use pearl barley added with the broth and cook it until done, about 40 minutes. I've also substituted chopped fresh spinach for the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mitte
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I followed another reviewers lead and added parmesan when I served it. Yummy! I think next time I'll add some white wine at some point to the recipe. I would call this a refrigerator door recipe. It was a nice way to use up any veggies that were about to go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Actually, I would give it three and a half stars. I thought it was really bland, but my husband enjoyed the soup, especially the barley. It is definitely a simple mild recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura August

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorpark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Made this a couple times now. Don't have mushrooms or celery (don't like them), but added more carrots and potatoes to compensate. Also added more garlic. Good base recipe that can be tweaked to your liking. I add garlic and onion powders, as well as some Italian Seasoning to round it off. Haven't tried it with the almonds yet, but I'm sure it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States