Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I tweaked this quite a bit, so I can't say how it would have tasted without the tweaking, but it was an excellent base for my cooking style!! (With soup, I love to make it my own and use what is on hand.) --- I browned some diced bacon in the pot, removed the bacon bits and all but 1-2 T. bacon grease. Then, added diced uncooked chicken and sauteed. Added onion, garlic and celery to cook for 10 min. Then added remaining ingredients using medium barley, and 1 diced parsnip, 1 can diced tomatoes, some dried marjoram, thyme and black pepper. Garnished with parsley and bacon bits. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
We leave out the mushrooms and almonds and let the soup get really thick. It's great with some warm bread. It's equally wonderful the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
excellent soup!! my family loved it. all 3 of my kids devoured this!! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very hearty and great flavor. I only used 1 tbl of butter, used canned mushrooms vs fresh and pearled barley instead of quick cooking barley. Also added 1 tbl of dried thyme to give it a little more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I'm surprised this gets such rave reviews. To me it's lacking something. A good dash of black pepper gives it some flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this exactly as written. It smelled so good while cooking I couldn't wait to try it. Very good, will make again. Not sure if you really need the butter and as much olive oil (doing Weight Watchers) may try less next time and adding a bit of tyme maybe. Anyone doing WW's - makes 15 cups at 5 pts per cup as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was a good soup, but it needed some help in the seasoning department. It was a little bland as written. Just add a few of your favourite spices and you'll be all set. I would suggest making sure you don't leave out the almonds, they added an original flavour to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
The parsley seemed like a little bit much so I only put about 1/2 of the amount in... Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikey07005
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Absolutely amazing soup! I left out the mushrooms and garlic and used white potatoes instead, but that didn't make much difference. I also added pine nuts to the almonds and followed some suggestions to toast them-gave the entire soup a little bit of a smoky, charbroiled flavor-in a good way! Made way too much and froze the leftovers-just finished it about 4 months later, so it keeps very well-just throw in a little (or a lot) sour cream when serving and this is a 5 star soup any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I loved this recipe - it made for a nice belly warmer. Unfortunately, I don't think it freezes so well, due to the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States