Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I made this several times during the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I don't know why I never thought to add toasted nuts to a soup before. It added a nice flavor and texture to the soup. Very easy recipe to pull together. I used olive oil instead of butter and doubled the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I found this to be bland, but the almonds were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
A good basic chicken veg barley soup, but I did it a little different - I added shredded cabbage cuz I love cabbage, and a tin of tomatoes. I did not use butter, but added some coffee cream instead (10%) which made it into a "cream of..." soup. Instead of adding barley, you could add quinoa and instead of adding any grain, you could use a hand wand-type blender to puree 1/3 of the soup to thicken it up. I used home made chicken stock to which I added a whole red chilli during the stock making process so my soup had a little more oomph. My spice choices were fresh rosemary, parsley, basil, sage, bay leaf, garlic. Avoided the almonds as they add calories and would get soft in a liquid based dish (i thought). Ate with crusty bagette and some real buddah (my vice). Also added spinach and left over home made french fries chopped up (cooked in the chicken fat off the soup stock - nothing gets wasted in my house). Ok no more brackets and thanks for sharing the recipe LEENEMS! PS: it gets better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This recipe kept my proportions in check & was a good mix; however, it really needed seasonings. I suited to my tastes & love the potato & barley choice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is excellent! I left out the almonds because I actually was making it for my elderly parents..86 and 90 years old........we all loved it. I had a lil bit too much garlic in it so I added spinach and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Turned out great. Flavor just got better with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Unfortunately I didn't have the mushrooms or slivered almonds, but otherwise I followed the recipe completely and loved it! Great recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a good basic recipe. You can spice it up and dress it up however you like. I pressured cooked the chicken breasts and used my favorite chicken soup spices, sage, bay leaf, thyme, rosemary, etc. I used regular barley instead of quick cooking because I like the firmer texture. I had never put almonds in a soup before so I was anxious to try it. They were ok but didn't have a "wow" factor so I won't add them again. I also had parsnips and lentils on hand so I put those in as well. It turned out to be a hearty comfort soup. I will continue to keep making variations of this recipe. So because of my personal preference I am giving this a 3.5 star rating. Go ahead and alter it to your tastes and ideas. Others love it exactly the way it is written but the possibilities are limiitless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Delicious soup!!! We loved it. I doubled the barley and carrots.........mmmmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States