Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made some changes to this recipe...cut down on the potatoes, added red and orange bell peppers, used fresh basil and cilantro instead of parsley, and left out the butter. The result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used leftovers from a store-bought roast chicken - bones to make the stock & the remainder of the chicken for the soup. This is a nice change from regular chicken noodle or vege soup. A hearty chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
It is a delicious soup. I wish I had not followed some tips, though, in how much barley to add. Since I didn't add potatoes, I decided to double the barley. It was way too much and I had to add another quart of chicken stock so that there was soup in with the barley. Rather than adding the chicken called for, I used the 'carcass' of a rotisserie chicken. The flavoring used on the chicken really added to the soup. I find there is so much hidden meat on those chickens that I hate to just throw the bones away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2manyhobbies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe is a great start for a hearty winter soup. I used white wine & herb chicken broth for a bit more flavor. Didn't use any butter, but when serving covered top with fresh baby spinach and sprinkled the almonds on top. The spinach cooks when stirred into the soup. Additions make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Very delicious soup! The toasted slivered almonds are an amazing touch. My dad had 4 bowls, and he's not what I would call a fan of healthy food. He requested more barley and less potatoes. Like most people, I made my own adjustments. I hate mushrooms, so they didn't make the cut. Also, I used half no salt added chicken stock and half no salt vegetable stock. Next time, I will add some fresh herbs during cooking to compensate for the lack of salt. Still a 5-star recipe because I know that my alterations changed the outcome of the recipe. This is a keeper! Truly a wonderful, hearty (and healthy!) soup perfect for a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by h0t5auce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is delicious and just a little bit different with potatoes and barley plus the almonds. Looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I about quadrupled the amount of barley to make a nice thick soup. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
i just made this and it came out perfect! made a few changes since the recipe looked bland (and some reviews backed that up)...while cooking the onions, celery and garlic- i seasoned them with dry cilantro, oregano, basil, sea salt and black pepper...i doubled the barley as someone else recommended and only used 2 qts of chicken broth + 1 can of cream of chicken campbells soup and a can of water. hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States