Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Very good and very filling. I thought it might be bland so added a bit more seasoning. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Fantastic!!!! I've made this twice now and we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This soup was a very good base. It definitely needed some more spices. I added some oregano, basil, and parsley flakes along with the sea salt and pepper. I also used turbetti pasta shells instead of barley and left out the butter. I also added parmesan cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I make this every two weeks for my family for our lunches. It's an amazing recipe! I did a few different hyings. I added a half a handful of Orzo, a handful of Wildrice and a Lentil/Wild rice mixture, and a cup of Pearl Barley, and let it all simmer in the stock pot for a while. I also omitted the potatoes and and almonds, as we don't prefer either. I love to let the flavors infuse with one another! Of course if you add more rice or whatever you prefer, you do need to increase the liquid portion so you don't have all hearty and no broth! I strongly recommend using homemade chicken stock if possible. I absolutely Love his recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwhite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Just made this great dish for lunch to use up some barley I had in the pantry. I substituted butternut squash for the mushrooms, added some spices (oregano, thyme, and basil), and just threw it together without measuring. Turned out to be a perfect meal for a cold snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Increasing the barley is no problem. Adding a little rosemary is fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
kinda bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I altered this recipe to suit my taste. I eliminated the almonds, mushrooms and butter. Added 1 more onion and Adobo seasoning. Throwing all this in to the crockpot made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hot Cookin' Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Great comfort soup!! Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the silvered almonds, forgot to buy them and I don't think that mattered because everyone loved the soup. I did have to add extra broth the next day because the barley soaked up the liquid but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a family favorite for us. It is healthy and the crutch of the almonds adds so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States