Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This was terrific. Very easy and quick. I added more garlic, carrot, celery, and browned my chicken. I also used pearl barley and cooked it for a while in chicken stock prior to adding. I did not add butter. Served this for our Soup Group and got rave reviews. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I would give this 10 stars if I could. This was very tasty. I did not have mushrooms or celery in the house so I left those out and I threw in about a tsp of kosher salt with the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I absolutely adore this soup. I usually double or even triple the recipe. In the winter, I usually add a little shredded cheese. I also make it without chicken and use vegetable stock for lunches in the summer, so we can have a healthy dose of our veggies. It's an unexpected combination (the almonds with the veggies and barley) that is delicious and leaves you very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gutti
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
The complex flavors are amazing. This is a new favorite in our home. My wife and I LOVED it. I doubled the recipe & substituted spinach for parsley. I toasted the almonds on the stove in a skillet (faster, just gotta keep a good eye on em) i used homemade chicken stock. added a zucchini halved and sliced into the pot near the end. For mushrooms: white button, portabella, and shitake. I've never had a homemade soup taste this good. and the almonds ... i would never had expected such a layer of flavor. they really do go perfectly in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gutti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I LOVE this soup! I've made it several times. It's my favorite new mama dinner gift-barley is great for milk supply and with the chicken and veggies it's a super nutritious soup. I do use pearl barley added with the broth and cook it until done, about 40 minutes. I've also substituted chopped fresh spinach for the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Very yummy. I used lentils instead of barley (only because I had it on hand). This was an easy, filling meal. Perfect for cold nights, and even yummy reheated the next day for lunch. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made it last night (40 degree outside) and it was a great comforting soup for a cold night. I did browned my chicken together with the onion and garlic. Otherwise, I pretty much follow everything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaoMao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a good basic recipe. You can spice it up and dress it up however you like. I pressured cooked the chicken breasts and used my favorite chicken soup spices, sage, bay leaf, thyme, rosemary, etc. I used regular barley instead of quick cooking because I like the firmer texture. I had never put almonds in a soup before so I was anxious to try it. They were ok but didn't have a "wow" factor so I won't add them again. I also had parsnips and lentils on hand so I put those in as well. It turned out to be a hearty comfort soup. I will continue to keep making variations of this recipe. So because of my personal preference I am giving this a 3.5 star rating. Go ahead and alter it to your tastes and ideas. Others love it exactly the way it is written but the possibilities are limiitless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is very warm and comforting. If you like mildly seasoned food then you will like this recipe. It reminds me of a homemade chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very good soup! I added two small cans of V8 and it turned out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States