Chicken Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made a batch of this soup last night and was it ever wonderful! The toasted almonds were an especially interesting, crunchy addition. Great flavor and very hearty, stick to the ribs fare. Highly recommend it for a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gutti
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
The complex flavors are amazing. This is a new favorite in our home. My wife and I LOVED it. I doubled the recipe & substituted spinach for parsley. I toasted the almonds on the stove in a skillet (faster, just gotta keep a good eye on em) i used homemade chicken stock. added a zucchini halved and sliced into the pot near the end. For mushrooms: white button, portabella, and shitake. I've never had a homemade soup taste this good. and the almonds ... i would never had expected such a layer of flavor. they really do go perfectly in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gutti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I thought the flavor of the soup was bland. It definitely needs spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I LOVE this soup! I've made it several times. It's my favorite new mama dinner gift-barley is great for milk supply and with the chicken and veggies it's a super nutritious soup. I do use pearl barley added with the broth and cook it until done, about 40 minutes. I've also substituted chopped fresh spinach for the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mitte
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I followed another reviewers lead and added parmesan when I served it. Yummy! I think next time I'll add some white wine at some point to the recipe. I would call this a refrigerator door recipe. It was a nice way to use up any veggies that were about to go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Actually, I would give it three and a half stars. I thought it was really bland, but my husband enjoyed the soup, especially the barley. It is definitely a simple mild recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura August

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorpark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Made this a couple times now. Don't have mushrooms or celery (don't like them), but added more carrots and potatoes to compensate. Also added more garlic. Good base recipe that can be tweaked to your liking. I add garlic and onion powders, as well as some Italian Seasoning to round it off. Haven't tried it with the almonds yet, but I'm sure it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
even my husband loved it! the only change i made was no mushrooms (i had none), compensated for that by adding a little extra potatoes & carrots. then i had to add extra broth (i used my own homemade, simmer-all-day broth). i served it with grated parmeson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adeline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very good soup! I added two small cans of V8 and it turned out great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States