Chicken Valdostano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Used 4 chicken breasts, shredded swiss cheese and dried parsley. Yes, the chicken takes longer than 2 minutes (on low?!) to brown. I cooked the chicken all the way through, about 5 minutes per side, then continued with the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Outstanding! I would serve this to company any day. I also doubled the mushroom sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I looooved this recipe, as did my boyfriend, who claimed it was "possibly the best meal he'd had in his life!". Thank you, Jen, for your wonderful recipe! I added a few more mushrooms (gotta love 'em) and substituted dried parsley for fresh. Other than that, I stayed true to the recipe and it was FABULOUS. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Didn't have the ham, nor fontina. Used provelone cheese. A wonderful dish. Rich, but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPS OHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very good except you really need to saute the chicken longer than the 2 minutes per side that the recipe indicates. Other than that, this recipe is a definite keeper! I'm going to try making with fresh mozzarella instead of the fontina just for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Excellent......sauteed the cutlets in a little olive oil, placed in a baking dish and layered each one with procuitto and fontina cheese.....baked covered for about 15-20 min until cheese melted and chicken was cooked through. The sauce was great....I did thicken it with flour and water and added an extra tblspn of butter at the end.....very tasty spooned over the cheesey chicken....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Wow! I have a hard time buying chicken because it is so bland but this recipe rocks! Its definititey got some bite and pungency to it so its not for the faint-hearted (or those who like bland things :)) Next time I would definitely double the amount of ingredients for the mushrooom sauce. I could have used more of that stuff. I omitted the parsley and it turned out fine. Use a good dry wine (only one you would risk serving to guests), trust me, this makes a difference. I used homemade chicken stock (try it some time, way better) and gluten-free flour (worked perfectly). For those of you who are sensitive to gluten, use it in this recipe and you won't be left out! This is a good recipe to impress friends, parents, special people etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Natomas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Yummy. Next time I would like to double the mushroom sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I thought that this was FANTASTIC!! I did make a few changes, however. When done frying the chicken I put it in a warm oven to keep it toasty. Then, I sauteed broccoli, baby bellas, and 1 clove of garlic in the remaining butter/oil. After two minutes, I added about 3/4 c chicken stock and let that cook off, until the broccoli was tender-crisp. I put the prosciutto and cheese atop the chicken in the oven until the cheese was melted and then I served it and the veggie saute over penne pasta with some extra fontina and parmesan sprinkled in. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Quick, easy, not *too* expensive, but absolutely outstanding. The flavors complimented each other perfectly. Apart from using a couple of grinds of black pepper, I followed the recipe exactly. I can't think of any ways to improve it apart from perhaps popping it under the broiler for a couple of mins to brown the cheese a little. I wouldn't hesitate to make this again. Thank you so much, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States