Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I have made this several times. I cook the chicken in a crockpot overnight seasoned with pepper, garlic powder, and chili powder. Then I shred the chicken. I add 2 cans of green chili's drained and use lime instead of lemon. Garnished with chopped cilantro, green onions, light sour cream and tortilla chips. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Mike liked it. He'd never had Chicken Tortilla Soup before and thought it was different. He ate the whole bowl so that means I can make it again. Next time I need to cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Partida
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I boiled the chicken with garlic & salt. Shredded the chicken then proceeded to sauté the onions & garlic in a small pot first. I added chicken stock instead of broth. ( In my opinion, I think it's tastier than broth) then I added the cumin, (substituted the chili powder with ground red pepper cayenne powder) lemon juice & salsa. In another small pan, I roasted fresh corn kernels. Added that to my soup. It gives a smoky flavor which is great for this recipe. I also added drained black beans & a small can of diced green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Partida

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Whole family really liked this soup and it was super easy. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used rotisserie chicken and added a can of black beans. I would add a little more corn, and a touch more cumin and chili powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachaelsee
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I have a tried and true recipe that I use for tortilla soup but I didn't have all the ingredients to make it. So I went in search of another for ideas of how to change things up. SO GLAD I DID!! My family loved it! I did everything pretty much the same but I did use a little oregano. I also didn't have chicken broth so I had to use water and boullion cubes (not my favorite option but it was fine) - and I used 4 cups instead of what the recipe called for. As some other members suggested I added a can I black beans (drained and rinsed). The family loved the flavor and the fact that it was more hearty than my other recipe. Great recipe - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Delicious, Quick, & Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
So freaking delicious. I followed all the directions and used the exact ingredients. I never add or remove ingredients on my first time making these recipes. It's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The can of salsa is the key and makes this sooo easy. I also use a store bought whole roasted chicken for this so it's more flavorful. Add avocado slices, a dollop of sour cream, cheese and tortillas strips and you've got an impressive, easy meal for guests. I usually make cornbread to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I just finished making this, following the directions exactly and it is absolutely delicious! I didn't have straight chicken broth so I used bouillon, and I also added a few slices of avocado on top. Fantastic recipe, just as good as a restaurants :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States