Chicken Tortilla Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made the recipe as written except I used fresh corn, which I nuked in the microwave for a couple of minutes, then cut of the cob, i added a pouch of seeds of change Spanish rice just before serving, and topped with chopped cilantro,diced avocados and a wedge of lime.Very Good,and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Really good I added 2 T of diced Jalepenos for a spicy version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
The main thing I would change would definitely be to use less onion! Otherwise it was great, not too much prep involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heath Terrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Tasted great! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I make it just the way the recipe listed and its an amazing soup. Sometimes I add a can of black beans but only because I like black beans. I also fry my own chips. Just fantastic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is an awesome recipe, our new comfort food. I love how fast this soup comes together. We have been making this weekly for about a month now. Everybody loves it. Made it for company to rave reviews. Lol. Of course we have just been leaving the chip bag open and letting people use what they want, same with the jack cheese, and I doubled the recipe - I don't know about the author's family but you can't feed four midwesterners on 2 chicken breasts and 8 ounces of chips. We have been using medium Pace, I don't know what other people have been using. We also have been roughly chopping up a bunch of cilantro and throwing it in just before we eat it, but we're cilantro heads, my husband puts it in sandwiches instead of lettuce when there is a lot around. I tried lime instead of lemon once, but I think lemon is better. You can go complicated and start making fresh pico de gallo, or you can go simple as heck, as you wish, it is hard to make a bad soup. I like using Penzey's chicken soup base instead of broth, I don't have to keep as many cans around (did I mention we're making a lot of this? lol!) plus the chicken flavor is more pronounced with the Penzey's (they're kinda champagne and caviar, but if you're going to spend the time cooking, might as well spend a little on your ingredients). Oh yeah, quadrupled the spices, too. My husband still reaches for the sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISOE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockport, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I had left over rotisserie chicken that I used and I had frozen mixed vegtables (corn, peas, green beans, carrots) other wise I followed the recipe as written. Wonderful! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is the BEST soup I've ever made! My husband And I ate it so fast, it was delicious! Only thing is, I would double or triple recipe. I wanted more leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
My family, full of picky eaters, gobbled this up. I wasn't thrilled with it (not my thing) but I loved how easy it was to make. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fgcosmi
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I did what the other reviewer said and boiled the chicken separate and then shredded it and added it to the broth after. I also added Spanish rice, jalapeño and garnished with avocado. I agree that you need more broth than what the recipe calls for. I had to cut mine with water to make it stretch. Other than that, it was a great soup and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fgcosmi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States