Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by EpiGregarious
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Recipe needs a little more description (list the actual prep time, refining amounts, describing how to cut the chicken in fajita strips, etc).Used heavy cream & whole milk instead of half&half and also dded Jack cheese to the soup as it reduced to make it thicker. Dollop of sour cream, full leaf cilantro, and tri-color strips as garnish helps with the restaurant presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EpiGregarious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Really delicious! I followed the recipe exactly but omitted the corn. This soup is so flavorful and easy to make! Love it, will definitely be making this many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipe has become part of our family football tradition. Following the recipe will make a thick great tasting soup that EVERYONE loves. I have been recently adding grilled corn with garlic and onion at the beginning. (With more margarine) Also grilling the chicken adds a different flavor. Only problem, never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This soup is to die for. Everyone who tried it raved about it. I did find that the recipe as written seemed a little too thick and creamy to me so I used only 2 cups milk instead of 4 cups half and half as well as frozen corn instead of cream of corn. Family and friends all couldn't get enough. Will definitely be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kol Lujan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
i love this soup!i make it all the time.....i add a jalapeno or two for a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family absolutely loved this soup! Going off some of the reviews, I used 6 tbls butter to saute the onions and the garlic and 6 tbls flour to make the soup creamier (just a matter of personal preference), and also used a 15 oz can of tomatoes with green chiles in place of the salsa. In addition, I added a 7 oz can of green chiles. Not sure why there were so many complaints about the color, we did not find it to be the least bit un-appetizing! In fact, my 10 year old son was already making plans to reserve some for his lunch the next day! My 16 year old daughter is a bit pickier, and typically not a fan of soup, but she thought that it was very good also! Thank you, Julie, for a very good recipe to add to our recipe box. We will have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very good soup! I used 3 chicken breasts and 2 cans of black beans. I also used sour cream for half of the half and half and added a can of chiles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is my husbands favorite soup! He can't get enough of it. It is also a crowd pleaser. Just about everyone I make it for loves it. The only thing I have to keep in mind is that some people don't like cilantro. I just leave the cilantro out or put it on the side if someone doesn't like it. Fantastic soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a good basic tortilla soup recipe. I made a few changes that made it pretty flavorful. I added two packets of sazon, an additional can of regular corn, an entire large jar of salsa (about 2 1/4 cups). I halved the amount of half-and-half. And instead of dumping in the fajita seasoning, I used the seasoning plus 1 TB olive oil, 1 TB soy sauce, 1/2 TB Liquid smoke, and 2 teaspoons lime juice as a marinade for the chicken for an hour or so. And I cooked the chicken, the onion, and the garlic with the marinade before adding it the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States