Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I won a tortilla soup contest with this recipe! I used medium salsa and fresh red pepper - chopped. Also I switched the cream of chicken soup with cream of poblano pepper and used a fresh roasted chicken - cubed instead of chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Awesome! My husband LOVES Mexican... and this was a hit. He doesn't like cilantro though - but you could easily change that out with green onion, fresh parsley or chives. The only thing I did to change it was to add a little velveeta (4-6 oz) and I put in almost 2 cups of salsa vs the 1 the recipe calls for. A HUGE hit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This soup is excellent! Delicious, easy and flavorful. My in-laws had three bowls! Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
OMG!!!!! I can't say enough about this recipe. Every time I make it I get rave reviews and many requests for the recipe. I buy a rotisserie chicken from Costco, remove chicken in place of breasts) then boil the carcass along with the skin (to add additional flavor) then strain and use as the broth. I also use a couple cans of Rotel tomatoes with chiles in place of the salsa. You have to try this recipe. You will not regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Sad to say this recipe was a big disappointment. Strange texture, unappetizing color and I have quarts of it left over. I will continue my search for the wonderful chicken tortilla soup I've had in restaurants - this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
WOW I was disapointed. Not what I was looking for. I have been trying to find a recipe like the soup I get in resturants but this wasnt it. It was like corn chowder with chicken and spices. Very watery and a unappealing pinky color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Good soup! I added a can of black beans (rinsed them first) and half a can of Rotel tomatoes. (Could have used the whole can and still wouldn't have been too spicy). On top we had yummy low fat sour cream and slices of avocado. We used fat free half and half, reduced fat Cream of Chicken, and canned chicken breast. Delicious! I am sure we will take this to a potluck in the future! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Yum, yum, yum!!! Those looking to cut the fat... I used 98% reduced fat cream of chicken soup and low-fat half and half and it was so good - this one is definitely going into the rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I know that I am going against the grain, as this is a 5 star recipe but I thought that it was terrible. The color alone ( a light pinky color because of the salsa & half&half) was enough to make it unappetizing to me and my family. The flavors were lacking, I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
While preparing this soup I was skeptical because it seemed so thin. But once it was finished and we added the chips and cheese it was very good. We like spicier foods, so next time I will add jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States