Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Absolutely outstanding!!! Easy and looked so glamourous. It stated it was 4 servings but for my family and friends it turned out more like 8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
My whole family (3 boys and 1 husband) LOVED this soup. Thanks Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This soup is great! I've made it several times and everyone I've served it to says it's great too. Like others, I add a can of black beans too -gives me a couple more servings per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Our family loves this soup. It is a great creamy type of tortilla soup. I use a little more salsa than is called for, and sometimes add some extra canned tomatoes as well. Otherwise I make it as listed and it works great. I have made the soup to take to an event before, and in that case I just added the cheese directly to the soup and melted it, rather than put it on each bowl and it worked great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I have made this soup a number of times now, and it gets better each time I do! I do add jalapenos, more cumin, and most of the time less half and half. It's a fantastic recipe, and I have shared it more times than I can remember. People looking for a traditional tortilla soup with a tomato base should avoid this recipe. As for a filling, soul warming soup on a cold winter evening, this can't be beat! Thank you so much for a recipe that I have used many times, and will continue to use for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Wow! I am not a big fan of Tortilla Soup but my family loves it. They thought this was awesome so I will make it again for them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I doubled the recipe and believe me it made a lot of soup. It was very good. I used half 2% milk and 1/2 of the 1/2 and 1/2. It came out perfect. I did scorch the milk on the bottom of the pan a little so be careful not to bring it to a boil too fast. We enjoyed this soup for days! Pefect for cooler weather. I think if I had used all 1/2 and 1/2 it would have been too thick for my liking especially after adding the cheese to each bowl. Yummy...thanks for sharing this recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
my husband absolutely loves chicken tortilla soup. I absolutely hate it. So I was very supprised to find my second bowl empty! This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjnauert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
All the people that said how gross this soup was are totally NUTS! This soup is a hit with everyone who eats it! You really can put any vegetable or meat into this! Try it with ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Excellent. My whole family found something that we all love equally.(Which is rare, as my kids and husband are very picky.) I did as suggested by adding half milk and half half and half. I also used stock from the chicken that I cooked for it. About 4 cups to thin it. And 3 cups of home cooked black beans. I also just used the tortillas and cheese as a topping.And just half a large jar of salsa since I don't have any fresh made. And we still have plenty left over. My 11 year old son said it is now his favorite food. And he never likes vegetables. Thank you so much. Meal times will be so much better now.(At least when I make this.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States