Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great soup! I made this for a soup supper fundraiser at church, and everyone went on and on about it. It's a definite keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
half and half was too heavy for me. next time I will use canned milk instead. tina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I made this soup just as the receipe calls for and it turned out excellent. And my very picky husband loves it! Will certainly be added to my favorite collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Awesome. Can play around with it to make it healthier - you don't really need the cream of chic soup. Use flour to thicken the soup instead if you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Hmmm... I have mixed feelings about this recipe. On the one hand, I did enjoy the finished product, but I did make changes and will make more. Normally, that doesn't cause me to give a lower rating to a recipe, but without these changes, this soup was bland and not very appetizing to me. Next time I make it (and there will probably be a next time), I will substitute sour cream for some of the half and half. I will definitely cut back on the cumin and add a couple of chopped jalapenos to the onion and garlic. I'll add hot sauce, more garlic, a splash of lime juice. When I made this recipe exactly as stated, the finished product was a little sweet and bland for my taste. With the addition of more spices, hot sauce, and some lemon juice it was much better. I'll also replace the fajita seasoning with taco or enchilada seasoning -- the fajita seasoning gave it an odd sweet and smoky flavor. Some people would really love this the way it is, some wouldn't. All in all, I think it's a good recipe that can be reworked to suit anyone's individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Great soup! Very easy to make! I used a rotisserie chicken, thanks to some of the other reviews. I also cut the recipe in 1/2. Turned out great but a little on the salty side. Next time I will use the reduced sodium versions of the chicken broth and cream of chicken soup. instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is why I love this site- I can touch up a recipe based on others' comments! I followed the recipe pretty close, but I shredded a premade rotisserie chicken, used 2 cups half n half and 2 cups milk, and added 1/2 cup frozen corn. It was great, no problem with seasoning, plenty hearty and made a full pot- way more than 8 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Probably the best soup recipe I have - and on heavy rotation at my house! I sub my own taco seasoning for the fajita seasoning and use 2 cups half and half, 2 cups milk. Every time I've made it, I get raves and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodfin Moll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This soup was good but difficult to rate. The base recipe was great, but I found that there was no need for the roux which would have just added more fat and calories to an otherwise healthy meal. I used fat free half and half but only a cup as any more would have turned my soup white. The amount I used added just the right amount of creaminess and the extra vegies I added left the soup thick and hearty. My family enjoyed this Julie and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was very flavorful and yummy! I used 2C. half & half and 2C. skim milk and it was still very creamy. Like other reveiwers I also put some of the cheese directly in the soup. Next time I may add black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States