Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very delicious! This was a HIT at our family gathering of 16 people. From the oldest to the youngest they all LOVED it! My sons were very vocal with the praises :) Made a few substitutions because of what I had on hand and added a can of black beans. I used a whole chicken instead of the breasts and taco seasoning instead of fahita seasoning. I also eliminated the cream of chicken soup. The picture does not do this soup justice-it is much more visually appealing. I garnished with red pepper strips and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
We loved this! I did not a few ingredients--so I created my own. Instead of salsa I used Ro-Tel tomoatoes (with lime and cilantro) 2 cans and a can of green chiles. I also didn't have fajita seasoning mix so I added salt, pepper, cumen, chile pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste. I also didn't have cilantro (other than what was in the Ro-Tel) so I added corriander to taste. I used cream of celery instead of cream of chicken. I also used a whole rotisserie chicken (skin and bones removed) rather than the chicken breasts. I guess the listed recipe was a jumping off point, but the end result was awesome--will certainly try to duplicate it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
My wife and I love this soup. We look forward to the leftovers as much as anything. I like to add extra tomatoes and peppers but you don't need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I often make this soup before camping. Everyone loves it. It tastes and smells delicious! I also add 1 can black beans to make it even hardier. Thanks Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
THIS is just toooo YUMMY for the TUMMY! This soup is just spicy enough for the whole family to agree on. I love this soup in the summer especially,but we eat it in every season. Use lots of Mexi-cheese on the top of your bowl..."Ayy Carrumba Miss Julie - You GO GIRL!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I really liked this soup. I did make a couple of changes. I used 2 cans of chicken broth instead of 3 to thicken it up. I added cheese directly to the soup as well as sprinkle on top at serving. Also, I added chili powder and hot sauce to add some heat. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is restaurant style soup. Everyone loved it. I did make the changes of using canned diced tomatoes instead of salsa. The first time I did it I cooked the chicken with the onion at first and it came out great. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Absolutely Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Really yummy but way too fattening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was very good...only change was I used a whole jar of salsa instead of 1 cup fresh salsa. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States