Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family absolutely loved this soup! Going off some of the reviews, I used 6 tbls butter to saute the onions and the garlic and 6 tbls flour to make the soup creamier (just a matter of personal preference), and also used a 15 oz can of tomatoes with green chiles in place of the salsa. In addition, I added a 7 oz can of green chiles. Not sure why there were so many complaints about the color, we did not find it to be the least bit un-appetizing! In fact, my 10 year old son was already making plans to reserve some for his lunch the next day! My 16 year old daughter is a bit pickier, and typically not a fan of soup, but she thought that it was very good also! Thank you, Julie, for a very good recipe to add to our recipe box. We will have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very good soup! I used 3 chicken breasts and 2 cans of black beans. I also used sour cream for half of the half and half and added a can of chiles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is my husbands favorite soup! He can't get enough of it. It is also a crowd pleaser. Just about everyone I make it for loves it. The only thing I have to keep in mind is that some people don't like cilantro. I just leave the cilantro out or put it on the side if someone doesn't like it. Fantastic soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a good basic tortilla soup recipe. I made a few changes that made it pretty flavorful. I added two packets of sazon, an additional can of regular corn, an entire large jar of salsa (about 2 1/4 cups). I halved the amount of half-and-half. And instead of dumping in the fajita seasoning, I used the seasoning plus 1 TB olive oil, 1 TB soy sauce, 1/2 TB Liquid smoke, and 2 teaspoons lime juice as a marinade for the chicken for an hour or so. And I cooked the chicken, the onion, and the garlic with the marinade before adding it the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My family loved this soup! Definitely a keeper. Chopped the chicken really fine which made the soup creamy. Will try serving with lime wedges next time and it will be just like the soup in the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was good and everyone loved it. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very delicious! This was a HIT at our family gathering of 16 people. From the oldest to the youngest they all LOVED it! My sons were very vocal with the praises :) Made a few substitutions because of what I had on hand and added a can of black beans. I used a whole chicken instead of the breasts and taco seasoning instead of fahita seasoning. I also eliminated the cream of chicken soup. The picture does not do this soup justice-it is much more visually appealing. I garnished with red pepper strips and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
We loved this! I did not a few ingredients--so I created my own. Instead of salsa I used Ro-Tel tomoatoes (with lime and cilantro) 2 cans and a can of green chiles. I also didn't have fajita seasoning mix so I added salt, pepper, cumen, chile pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste. I also didn't have cilantro (other than what was in the Ro-Tel) so I added corriander to taste. I used cream of celery instead of cream of chicken. I also used a whole rotisserie chicken (skin and bones removed) rather than the chicken breasts. I guess the listed recipe was a jumping off point, but the end result was awesome--will certainly try to duplicate it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
My wife and I love this soup. We look forward to the leftovers as much as anything. I like to add extra tomatoes and peppers but you don't need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I often make this soup before camping. Everyone loves it. It tastes and smells delicious! I also add 1 can black beans to make it even hardier. Thanks Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States