Chicken Tortilla Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This soup is to die for. Everyone who tried it raved about it. I did find that the recipe as written seemed a little too thick and creamy to me so I used only 2 cups milk instead of 4 cups half and half as well as frozen corn instead of cream of corn. Family and friends all couldn't get enough. Will definitely be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kol Lujan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
i love this soup!i make it all the time.....i add a jalapeno or two for a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family absolutely loved this soup! Going off some of the reviews, I used 6 tbls butter to saute the onions and the garlic and 6 tbls flour to make the soup creamier (just a matter of personal preference), and also used a 15 oz can of tomatoes with green chiles in place of the salsa. In addition, I added a 7 oz can of green chiles. Not sure why there were so many complaints about the color, we did not find it to be the least bit un-appetizing! In fact, my 10 year old son was already making plans to reserve some for his lunch the next day! My 16 year old daughter is a bit pickier, and typically not a fan of soup, but she thought that it was very good also! Thank you, Julie, for a very good recipe to add to our recipe box. We will have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very good soup! I used 3 chicken breasts and 2 cans of black beans. I also used sour cream for half of the half and half and added a can of chiles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is my husbands favorite soup! He can't get enough of it. It is also a crowd pleaser. Just about everyone I make it for loves it. The only thing I have to keep in mind is that some people don't like cilantro. I just leave the cilantro out or put it on the side if someone doesn't like it. Fantastic soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a good basic tortilla soup recipe. I made a few changes that made it pretty flavorful. I added two packets of sazon, an additional can of regular corn, an entire large jar of salsa (about 2 1/4 cups). I halved the amount of half-and-half. And instead of dumping in the fajita seasoning, I used the seasoning plus 1 TB olive oil, 1 TB soy sauce, 1/2 TB Liquid smoke, and 2 teaspoons lime juice as a marinade for the chicken for an hour or so. And I cooked the chicken, the onion, and the garlic with the marinade before adding it the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My family loved this soup! Definitely a keeper. Chopped the chicken really fine which made the soup creamy. Will try serving with lime wedges next time and it will be just like the soup in the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was good and everyone loved it. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very delicious! This was a HIT at our family gathering of 16 people. From the oldest to the youngest they all LOVED it! My sons were very vocal with the praises :) Made a few substitutions because of what I had on hand and added a can of black beans. I used a whole chicken instead of the breasts and taco seasoning instead of fahita seasoning. I also eliminated the cream of chicken soup. The picture does not do this soup justice-it is much more visually appealing. I garnished with red pepper strips and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
We loved this! I did not a few ingredients--so I created my own. Instead of salsa I used Ro-Tel tomoatoes (with lime and cilantro) 2 cans and a can of green chiles. I also didn't have fajita seasoning mix so I added salt, pepper, cumen, chile pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste. I also didn't have cilantro (other than what was in the Ro-Tel) so I added corriander to taste. I used cream of celery instead of cream of chicken. I also used a whole rotisserie chicken (skin and bones removed) rather than the chicken breasts. I guess the listed recipe was a jumping off point, but the end result was awesome--will certainly try to duplicate it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States