Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I love, love, love this soup. I did add cumin as several reviewers suggested. And I do use chicken broth instead of water. Overall, though, I find this to be an amazingly versatile recipe. I have made alterations when I did not have the exact ingredients on hand. For example, I have used hominy instead of black beans. And I have even tried it with Goya pink beans. My suggestion is, stick to the recipe as much as possible. If there is an ingredient that you don't care for, make adjustments as you go. In my opinion, the toppings contribute a lot to the overall flavor. So don't omit them. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Deliciouso!!! Very good, I underestimated this recipe but let me tell you you won't be disappointed! I did use the cumin instead of the othe no like suggested and I let it simmer for about 30 to 45 mins to let the flavors developed . I makes plenty for a fulfilling meal and enough for a quick lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Sooooo yummy sooooo easy! Big hit with the family! I only added some cumin to the recipe...perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy6425

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe was absolutely amazing! I've made it a few times and omit the hominy, green chiles, and black beans. My family loves it and the aroma draws them in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Absolutely LOVED this recipe. I looked at the other reviews and changed some things, too, to make it just right. Instead of one can of chicken broth, I used a 48 oz container of it for a perfect consistency. I also added a little more cilantro to taste, because you can never have enough cilantro in my house. :) Also, I used a can of Rotel instead of chile peppers for a little more flavor, and a whole bag of frozen corn instead of hominy. If you like a little kick, you also HAVE to add a couple tablespoons of chopped jalepenos (depending on how spicy you want the soup.) Garnish with avocado and a squeeze of lime, and it is the PERFECT soup. Better than any restaurant, and even better when heated up the next day. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Great recipe! served with warm corn bread it's a great meal anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennifer_a00
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe, except instead of water, I used all chicken broth. This was great! We all loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Marce
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I did not change a thing it is so very good even my two year loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Hearty soup, almost tastes like a quesadilla. Next time I will probably make a side of fried plantains to dip in the soup. Also I added a pinch of salt and pepper for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
So easy to make! I used leftover chicken from the night before. You can spice it up or down to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette DuFord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States