Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was great. Tasty, just enough spice, thick consistency. I did not add black beans and added a little bit of lime juice for personal preference. Definitely a keep for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great soup for a cold night, with some cornbread and apple crisp for dessert. I did roasted cumin also rather than the oregano. Perfect fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCPRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This recipe is fabulous! I tried making chicken tortilla soup before, but this recipe definitely outshines the previous one I used. I omitted the canned beans (had a bad experience with those in another recipe... strange texture) used 2 cans of regular chicken broth, used 1 jalapeno, omitted cilantro and garlic (i didn't have any). It was still so flavorful even after omitting those ingredients. I topped the soup with avocado, sour cream, chips and monterey jack cheese. YUM!!!! I will be making this A LOT this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Terrific!! Like most others I omitted the hominy only because this is not an ingredient I am familiar with since I live in the north east. Also I do not like Cilantro like some other, to me it has a soapy taste. I also flavored it up a bit with cumin & hot sauce and of course a dollop of sour cream upon serving. This recipe freezes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cresco, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I liked it but I changed up a few things. We enjoy our soups thicker so I had a can of mixed veggies(yuck) that my Mom gave me when she cleaned out her cabinets. I pureed them in the blender with a cup of chicken broth and added it to the soup. It thicken it up and made it creamy with out the extra fat that sour cream would have added. I also added a cup of hot salsa in place of tomatoes. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
made it and loved it; all the family did like it but personal preference, next time we will not use the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I made this and edited it according to most of the reviews. I used cumin instead of oregano, I used two cans of chicken broth instead of the condensed chicken broth and water. I did not use hominy. I added a can of corn. The one thing I did that I did not see in reviews which I do to store bought tortilla soup is I added a chopped chipotle pepper, it adds the smoky flavor and kick I love. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved it ! and so has everyone whom I've shared this soup with. I do take a short cut by using a whole roasted chicken from the grocery store (shred it and discard the skin and bones) I also add chipotle peppers in adobo instead of the green chilies , 1 tsp of ground cumin and 1-14oz can of diced tomatoes. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
It was good but just seemed a little bland. It had a little kick but it seemed like something was missing. I would have preferred it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious!!! Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,060) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States