Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The recipe is a good base recipe, and with a few changes the soup itself is worth 5 stars. Like other reviewers, we added quite a bit more seasoning and used all broth (homemade) and no water. We also omitted the hominy, using corn instead and used roasted Anaheims instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Morrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
We loved this soup! I used a big pinch of Mexican oregano and a pinch of cumin and all chicken broth in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. I did follow most of the instructions and ingredients except that I usually add dry oregano to soups at the end when I am about 5 minutes away or so to turn off the heat. The reason being that oregano gets a bit bitter if over cooked. As for everything else, I did everything the same however I had some pre-cooked chicken for Lime chicken Soft tacos found in this website. Needless to say the chicken tasted very, very good already. I encourage you to try the recipe of the Soft tacos and if you have left overs use them to make this recipe and if you like the flavor of limes add a few drops you will see how this recipe gets even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I didn't have the hominy or green chilies but it was really good. Going to make this this fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Amazing !!!!! I followed the reviews with adding extra cumin rather than the oregano, adding lime juice etc.. absolutely amazing... I'm not a soup fan but his recipe is absolutely incredible !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Loved it! Would change the oregano to cumin and add some lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
SO GOOD! I read a lot of the reviews and used some of the suggestions such as switching out the oregano for cumin and adding a bit of coriander. I had a half a jar of salsa verde, and one can of Rotel . I had diced tomatoes which I put in UN DRAINED. I had about 1 cup of leftover Chicken stock so I threw that in and made up the rest of the liquid with water. I didn't feel the need for the chilies because I already had the salsa and Rotel. I used B/S chicken thighs and added them WHOLE with everything into my crockpot. I didn't have any hominy. I just added an extra cup of frozen corn with the black beans. I used the amount of chili powder called for and I sautéed my onions and garlic before adding them in. It cooked all day on low, took the chicken out, shredded it and returned it to the pot. DO NOT skip the part of putting in some crushed tortilla chips. It really adds that authentic taste. This recipe is so forgiving! I was able to use up things from my fridge, pantry, and freezer and it came out Muy Bueno! INO, the crock pot allowed the flavors to meld and added to the finished dish. The chicken shredded perfectly. DO USE the extras! Sour cream, shredded cheese, avocado, etc add to the authenticity. I would put this up against a restaurant any day! Thank you, Star Pooley for such a great, FORGIVING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I found this soup to be very thick, I added about a cup more water than it calls for, and still didn't have as much broth as we would have liked. I would suggest to add somewhere around 2 cans, and then rinse out the cans and put the water from that in as well. I halved the recipe, but still used two chicken breasts, but that still came out to less than a pound of chicken. I was surprised how flavorful this was, while only having chili powder and oregano as seasonings. I also used slightly more green chilies that this calls for, I was supposed to use half the can and accidentally poured the whole thing in, I took out all I could of the "pure" peppers, but it was still slightly more. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Tried this tonight and it was delicious. I did not make any changes as I like to try a recipe as written for the first time even though some of the reviewer changes sounded good. One thing I found at the grocery store was crushed tomatoes with Mexican seasoning which I may try the next time and I might also put in a jalapeno while it is cooking for a little more spice. Would not be disappointed if I ordered tortilla soup at a restaurant and it tasted like this recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I used cooked rotisserie chicken pieces (Costco) and it made this recipe SUPER fast and easy. Threw it all in the crockpot on low for 6-7 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States