Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was the absolute BEST Tortilla soup PERIOD! Yes I changed it too, but not by much.I prepared dry black beans instead of using canned. I used three large Beef Steak tomatoes and cooked them down while the chicken was baking. I used a 10 oz. bag of frozen corn. I omitted the oregano as others suggested but did add fresh cilantro with about 2 Tbs. of cumin. All my ingredients were Organic as well as the chips. DELICIOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Cummings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Huizar84
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Always a huge hit on a cloudy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My boyfriend and I LOVE this soup. I make it often, especially when one of us has a cold. I use shredded chicken and cumin rather than oregano. Garnish with monterrey jack, avocado, yellow corn chips, and fresh cilantro. The green onions do not fit with the flavor profile, so I don't use those. This is a must try recipe. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Poulsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband when he was sick with a sore throat and head cold. He loved it, I added a few red pepper flakes when simmering and it had a nice kick, soothing on the throat but clears the sinuses. Very yummy will defiantly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Bates Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
If my husbands likes what I cook, then the food is great and he liked this one and wants it again. I used pinto beans & a can of enchilada sauce. It was fast, easy, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Delicious recipe as is! I substituted shredded chicken however because that is what I had and I like shredded better. Perfect for a cool fall evening or winter night! Will definitely be making this again and again! Add a dollop of sour cream on top for perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
After reading reviews, I replaced water with chicken stock and added extra spice...still quite bland. Needs lots more salt and spices. Once added, and put all toppings on, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
darn good recipe, tried hominy for the first time that I know of, love it. Who wouldn't want more corn tortilla flavor in their soup? I pretty much followed JennnAnthomy's most helpful review instructions. I dug the addition of the cumin. The avacado is an absolute must, don't skip that. You can cream this recipe up too by adding heavy cream, halfnhalf or even 2% milk. Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Kurtz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
So, at first I did follow the recipe exactly. After the soup had finished simmering, I did a taste test and made some additions: I added ground cumin, lime juice and 1 can of Rotel. For me, this was GREAT!!! The next day, I did have to add some extra chicken broth and tasted even better. I used the recommended garnishes plus sour cream. VERY GOOD!!! I would highly recommend tasting before serving and add what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thomas
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very yummo and easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States