Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This soup was fantastic, out of this world, we loved it. It was pretty spicey though so if you don't like that I would cut back on the chili powder to taste. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was my first attempt at making chicken tortilla soup and I chose this recipe after looking at several on the site, and was not disappointed. This is a great recipe! I followed it exactly with a few minor changes based on other reviews: I used 40 oz of chicken broth, substituted cumin for the oregano, added the juice from half of a lime, I shredded the chicken instead of cutting it into pieces, and I omitted the black beans as a personal preference. I let it simmer for about an hour as others had suggested and this seem to really set the flavors. I also made my own tortilla strips using corn tortillas cut into strips and baked in the oven until crispy. I used the toppings as called for in the recipe and it was just perfect. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
sooooo Good! I make this quite often, this is a great base recipe. Honestly, you can add so many things to your liking and it is great every time. I don't think I have ever made it the same, haha. It is my kids favorite meal and it is good for you too!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kckshops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was just okay. I can't really pinpoint anything I disliked about it, just in general, it wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Very good! I used 2 cans of chicken broth and left out the water, used the whole 15 oz. can of hominy and added a packet of taco seasoning and left the rest the same. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by ldebeni
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Excellent flavor! I also seasoned my chicken pieces with salt, pepper, & chili powder prior to sautéing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I didn't have a couple of the listed ingredients but basically followed the recipe. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Casebolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Awesome recipe! Made it for my family this weekend and it was a big hit. This is my second time to make it and it was great both times. This is a keeper, and my sister asked for the recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great recipe! Even my hard to please husband loved it. The recipe is a great base and easy to follow. I added more chicken broth for a soupier consistency and squeezed some fresh lime to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very good as is but better by adding 1 tsp. cumin lime juice and a little more chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,088) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States