Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Terrific!! Like most others I omitted the hominy only because this is not an ingredient I am familiar with since I live in the north east. Also I do not like Cilantro like some other, to me it has a soapy taste. I also flavored it up a bit with cumin & hot sauce and of course a dollop of sour cream upon serving. This recipe freezes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cresco, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I liked it but I changed up a few things. We enjoy our soups thicker so I had a can of mixed veggies(yuck) that my Mom gave me when she cleaned out her cabinets. I pureed them in the blender with a cup of chicken broth and added it to the soup. It thicken it up and made it creamy with out the extra fat that sour cream would have added. I also added a cup of hot salsa in place of tomatoes. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
made it and loved it; all the family did like it but personal preference, next time we will not use the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I made this and edited it according to most of the reviews. I used cumin instead of oregano, I used two cans of chicken broth instead of the condensed chicken broth and water. I did not use hominy. I added a can of corn. The one thing I did that I did not see in reviews which I do to store bought tortilla soup is I added a chopped chipotle pepper, it adds the smoky flavor and kick I love. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved it ! and so has everyone whom I've shared this soup with. I do take a short cut by using a whole roasted chicken from the grocery store (shred it and discard the skin and bones) I also add chipotle peppers in adobo instead of the green chilies , 1 tsp of ground cumin and 1-14oz can of diced tomatoes. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
It was good but just seemed a little bland. It had a little kick but it seemed like something was missing. I would have preferred it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious!!! Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Made this last night and followed some suggestions from other reviews. You really can't go wrong with this recipe. Here are the changes I made. 64oz of chicken stock for the liquid, 28oz can of white hominy because that is what my store had, 2 cans of diced green chilies, 2 cans of corn and black beans, 1.5tsp cumin instead of oregano. After sauteing the onions and garlic I put everything into a large stock pot, brought it to a boil, then simmered for just over an hour. It was awesome! My 19yo son usually hates anything with chili powder and cumin and he asked me to put this in his college recipe binder so he can make it on his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
By far the best chicken tortilla soup I've ever had. The only thing I didn't use in this recipe was the condensed chicken broth. I boiled my own chicken with a bouillon cube and used that instead. My kids and husband wiped my pot clean. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
So yummy! My husband and two young sons could not rave enough about how tasty it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,088) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States