Chicken Tortilla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I WILL be making this again!! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Delicious! Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
1 can of diced tomatoes 1 can fire roasted. 4 cups water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Was really good. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countrystrng88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
No hominy but love the corn addition. Also put in tortillas per suggestions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Different than any other soups I've made before but excellent in its own right! I basically made the recipe as is except I couldn't find hominy at my (Canadian) grocer. To ensure max. taste I used (a) kernels from 4 fresh cobs and (b) beans made from scratch. Since there seems to be a debate about the soup's thickness, I used concentrated chicken stock and added water to my liking. Definitely will make again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Best recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I have tried this recipe a couple of times and as is, I wouldn't give it 5 stars, but with changes it is fabulous! Here are my changes...I diced up fresh tomatoes (anywhere from 2-4 tomatoes depending on how much of that flavor you want) instead of canned and they were perfectly ripe, so it worked! I also added in a fresh yellow and red bell pepper and added more chili powder and cumin. Those make it SO much more flavorful and yummy! I also used ALL chicken broth instead of any water (homemade from boiling the leftovers of a rotisserie chicken--so much better than the canned stuff!!), added about 2 tsp garlic salt, skipped the hominy and just put in corn. I added another 4 oz can of green chiles and stirred in some sour cream 1/2 hour before I served it (just like many other reviews suggested). I threw everything in the crockpot and let it cook for 5+ hours to let all the flavors come together. As soon as the chicken is cooked through, (about 3 hours into it), I take out the chicken, shred it with a knife and fork, and then put it back in to soak up some more flavor. Add crushed tortilla chips, cheese, sour cream, avocado, fresh cilantro to top it off and it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Delicious! We like spicy so we added the following. Half a jalapeno chopped, half teaspoon cumin and half a teaspoon Goya as well as a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. I used red onion instead of white. I was shocked at how good it turned out the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
My family liked it. I looked at a ton of recipes and chose this one. glad I did. I made some substitutions due to necessity of what was in my closet: I didn't have hominy, so I substituted creamed corn instead of the regular corn and hominy together. I used jalepenos since I didn't have green chiles. And I didn't use the water. It was thicker and my family liked it this way. Also added a dollop of sour cream to the top. (and no green onions since my family doesn't like those)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States