Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I like this recipe and it is very delicious! I recommend adding black beans to make it a little more filling, and shredding the chicken. But besides that this recipe is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrendaIvette71
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made this today. Everyone Loved It.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrendaIvette71

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Even adding a can of chili beans, it still seems to be lacking something. But very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I tried a couple of recipes for this soup and I found this recipe to be the best. I actually just threw everything into the crockpot along with a can of black beans and about a cup of corn to give it a bit more substance. When I got home, I took the chicken out and chopped it up and put the rest of the soup in a pot on the stove and added the cornstarch which thickened up the soup nicely. I added the chicken back in and served. I also put a few tortilla chips in the bottom of the bowl before I poured in the soup. I had available sour cream, cheese, chips and avocado for topping. I will probably use a bit less taco seasoning next time as I am very wimpy when it comes to spice. It was delicious and my skinny husband even had two bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kary
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was so yummy my husband had two big bowls. I added a can of rinsed black beans and topped it with avocado slices and tortilla chips. Just to die for, try it you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was good, but felt like there was something missing in the flavor and I didn't really care for the texture given by the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I added diced tomatoes in a can and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I Seriously can't describe just how good this soup is! Not only is this delicious on it's own, you can add to, or take out, any of the ingredients that you may not have on hand and it will still come out AMAZING! I used home made chicken stock, some rotisserie chicken, a bag of frozen corn, a can of black beans, drained, and just went with it. I did add in 3TBSP cornmeal that I mixed with water to use as my thickener instead of the cornstarch, to give it a nice corn background taste,and I also added in about 4 small corn tortillas that I cut into strips and just added into the mix. I can only tell you that my husband can't stop eating it and neither can I! When serving it, I put some corn tortilla chips and shredded cheese in the bowl, then added the soup on top of that. I LOVE AVACADOS and since they were on sale here, I bought one and diced it up to add to the top of the soup. I also added a dollop of Mexican crema to it, but my husband went with straight sour cream and LOVED IT! It is truly HEAVEN on earth! So good! Thank you ladyw4kids! Nice job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Great results with minimal effort. This is one any Dad can pull off to impress the family. I threw in some corn and black beans to chunk it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Made it exactly as written except I shredded the chicken after simmering it in the broth. A great base recipe leaving open additions to taste like beans, corn, corn- meal, and cilantro. Also very fast! 1/8 cup of jar taco seasoning equals 1 packet of taco seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States