Chicken Tinola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Yes! I found it. I should have saved this one to my recipes. My family loved it the first time I cooked it (and we live in the south, so chicken stew is heavily criticized) I subbed the spinach for more bok choy as well. Also, I baked the chicken skins and served on the side. Good, easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
My family & I really liked this - alot. Had some chayote to use up so my search brought me here. Never heard of it but had all the ingredients on hand (except bok choy, had to go buy it) & thought "why not"? Increased the recipe to serve 6 - used 6 thighs, homemade chicken stock (I keep in the freezer), 4 chayotes, 4 baby bok choy & omitted the spinach. Followed recipe pretty close except I did season & brown the thighs first (in a separate pan, wanted to keep the flavors in the broth clean) & served with steamed jasmine rice, rooster sauce & soy sauce. Light, delicate & tasty, a surprise hit in my house last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
if you can find chili leaves at all, please do. It will make this dish divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Taste like the authentic Filipino dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This recipe was fantastic! The grocery was out of fish sauce, so we made do with oyster sauce instead. Lots of flavor, healthy, and quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have never had it this way. But, it does sound really yummy!! This is my goto comfort food along with a side of sticky rice! I think I am going to make this next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtle mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Love this recipe, we have been looking for more fish recipes so made this with Cod instead of Chicken. Make base recipe, then steam/poach cod fillets on top of the recipe - delicious. Can substitute butternut squash or pumpkin or sweet potato for the chayote squash, and vegetable stock for the chicken broth for pescetarian version. To brighten flavor, add a bit of hot sauce or sri racha. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
try add lemon grass when making the soup of tinola....taste & smell really yummy + green papaya & some chili leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've made this many times before but I didn't use chicken broth, just plain water and I simmered it for an hour to give the soup flavour. I've also never used bok choy but I did use pepper leaves which gives it a nice peppery flavour. I will be making this for my mother who has been making this for over 50 years now. She's also in the past used papaya if she couldn't find chayote. Can't wait to here her critique!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very tasty. Didn't use spinach or squash. Would be better with boneless chicken breast or beef I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States