Chicken Tinola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is the second time I am making this recipe. I am substituting kale for the spinach however as I have a ton of kale and it is just so very good for you! I hope it does not change the flavor too much as I just love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Yum! Substituted sweet potato for the squash, used vegetable broth and no bok chou. Very tasty! (forgive the auto-correct!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Quite delicious--but it makes WAY more than 4 servings. Unless you're feeding 4 adolescent boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johanssonmel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
It is the fish sauce that gives this dish it's wonderful flavor. If you are going to make this dish, buy a bottle of fish sauce. It lasts forever, and you will eventually get accustomed to the horrific smell. I give the recipe four stars because the addition of bok choy is just silly overkill. You do not need bok choy. My wife is from Mindanao, where malunggay is required for this dish. During the summer we are able to get fresh malunggay from a local Asian store, and we use it instead of the spinach. During the winter, spinach is an acceptable substitute. I have found that the frozen malumggay that I can get all year is just too mushy. Additionally, I think that it is critical to cut the ginger into the smallest slices possible. The ginger needs to complement all of the other flavors, not dominate them. Also, use fatty cuts of chicken. I always use thighs. Breasts will not do it. Finally, do not overcook the chayote. Mushy chayote will ruin the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This soup was an enormous hit with my family ranging in ages 9 - 50! Truly didn't need any "doctoring" that we could taste - was simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Typical ingredient is green papaya, malunggay or sili leaves (pepper) , chayote squash could be a substitute for papaya but I would never use spinach although bokchoy can be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was fantastic! We loved the broth. It's simple but very flavorful and easy to make. Next time I try it I'll use less chicken (it was a lot of chicken), and maybe add potatoes or some sort of rice or grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This one of the best soups I have ever tasted it is full of flavor and it is so fresh. This is a great soup to eat while you are on a diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Yes! I found it. I should have saved this one to my recipes. My family loved it the first time I cooked it (and we live in the south, so chicken stew is heavily criticized) I subbed the spinach for more bok choy as well. Also, I baked the chicken skins and served on the side. Good, easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
My family & I really liked this - alot. Had some chayote to use up so my search brought me here. Never heard of it but had all the ingredients on hand (except bok choy, had to go buy it) & thought "why not"? Increased the recipe to serve 6 - used 6 thighs, homemade chicken stock (I keep in the freezer), 4 chayotes, 4 baby bok choy & omitted the spinach. Followed recipe pretty close except I did season & brown the thighs first (in a separate pan, wanted to keep the flavors in the broth clean) & served with steamed jasmine rice, rooster sauce & soy sauce. Light, delicate & tasty, a surprise hit in my house last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States