Chicken Tinola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have chicken, squash or spinach, so in terms of bulk, I only had the bok choy. But the broth was sooo good, delicate yet savory. I like my greens a little crunchy, so I piled up the chopped bok choy in the bowl and poured the onion-garlic-fish sauce-ginger-salt-pepper broth over it. Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This is the most awesome chicken soup ever! I loved the bountiful amounts of both spinach and kale used here which made it nutritious. It was my first time cooking with chayote and it was amazing. It’s a squash that has a mellow melon flavor and is kind of like a non starchy potato. When I make this recipe again, I’m using two chayote squashes. This particular combination made for nice flavors along with just salt and pepper. Very simple recipe to prep and cook, just throw everything in a pot and just simmer. This will be added to my 5 star recipes list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is the second time I am making this recipe. I am substituting kale for the spinach however as I have a ton of kale and it is just so very good for you! I hope it does not change the flavor too much as I just love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Yum! Substituted sweet potato for the squash, used vegetable broth and no bok chou. Very tasty! (forgive the auto-correct!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Quite delicious--but it makes WAY more than 4 servings. Unless you're feeding 4 adolescent boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johanssonmel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
It is the fish sauce that gives this dish it's wonderful flavor. If you are going to make this dish, buy a bottle of fish sauce. It lasts forever, and you will eventually get accustomed to the horrific smell. I give the recipe four stars because the addition of bok choy is just silly overkill. You do not need bok choy. My wife is from Mindanao, where malunggay is required for this dish. During the summer we are able to get fresh malunggay from a local Asian store, and we use it instead of the spinach. During the winter, spinach is an acceptable substitute. I have found that the frozen malumggay that I can get all year is just too mushy. Additionally, I think that it is critical to cut the ginger into the smallest slices possible. The ginger needs to complement all of the other flavors, not dominate them. Also, use fatty cuts of chicken. I always use thighs. Breasts will not do it. Finally, do not overcook the chayote. Mushy chayote will ruin the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This soup was an enormous hit with my family ranging in ages 9 - 50! Truly didn't need any "doctoring" that we could taste - was simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Typical ingredient is green papaya, malunggay or sili leaves (pepper) , chayote squash could be a substitute for papaya but I would never use spinach although bokchoy can be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alicante, Communidad Valenciana, Spain
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was fantastic! We loved the broth. It's simple but very flavorful and easy to make. Next time I try it I'll use less chicken (it was a lot of chicken), and maybe add potatoes or some sort of rice or grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This one of the best soups I have ever tasted it is full of flavor and it is so fresh. This is a great soup to eat while you are on a diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States