Chicken Tinga Tostados Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I've used this recipe many times. A woman who worked for us was married to a Mexican man, and used to bring it in to the office occasionally to share with another employee. I had asked for the recipe but was never given it so I googled it. This is the recipe I liked best, and shared some of my tinga with the employee who had eaten it. She thought it was even better than her friend's. I started with 1/2 of the chipotle, and puree the rest to serve on the side for those who want more spice. If I don't have fresh tomatoes, I use a large can of crushed tomatoes. This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
OMG this was awesome with the suggestion of adding a cinnamon stick and spoon of sugar! I've had Tonga several times and tried various suggestions. This dish is one of those things you either love or don't love (like my hubby doesn't care for it but I can't stop eating it once I start). I made this for a party so I doubled up the recipe, using bone-in breasts and thighs. I used shallots instead of onions (personal preference) and used one can Chipotle Peppers in adobo sauce and one can of Chipotle sauce. I personally like it with just sour cream on the tostada then a pile of the chicken tinga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Just tried this recipe minus all the onions. It was nice and spicy and great on a crunchy corn tostada. I will definitely make this again. Celia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Excellent. A monthly rotation for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Yes, it is amazingly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Fantastic sauce recipe! I decided to roast the tomatoes, tossed in olive oil, at 450 for 30 minutes then added cilantro, sugar and cinnamon to the sauce as others suggested. It was a delicious blend of spicy and sweet and I look forward to trying this out at a party. Guests will go crazy for it. Topped off the tostado with refried beans, then sour cream before adding the chicken. A sprinkle of shredded lettuce and avocado on the side makes this a great meal. Thank you to the chef for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeffcancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I used only like 2-3 of the chipotle peppers because a whole can would of made it to hot and then my kids wouldnt ready it and u served it on fried Bjorn tortillas with shredded cabbage, sour cream,queso fresco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madras, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Family thought it was okay and recipe was not a keeper. It took a while to make with all the different steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Amazing! Although, a bit spicy for my taste. The next time I made it, I used a 3.5 oz. can of chipotle peppers, which still gave it enough flavor without being over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
It was quick & easy The family liked the tasty flavor! They had seconds. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToRi Torrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States