Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stecki
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Just made this after trying some other tikka masala recipes and this is most like the one my favorite Indian restaurant serves. After reading other reviews I chose to cut down the salt, only using one teaspoon in both the marinade and the sauce and didn't miss the rest. I did not use the jalapeno either and it was spicy enough (although I admit I rank poorly on the hot food scale). I added part of a red onion left over from a great shrimp taco recipe on this site, cut into long slivers which was nice. I did not feel like firing up my charcoal grill so I just broiled the bits of chicken in the oven, nice and tender. When i do this recipe again, I will definitely try the grilling option as I am sure it only makes it even better. I cooked my sauce a bit too long as I prefer it a little runny to mix all up in the rice. It was a little thick, but since I didn't have any naan bread, it was ok. On the reheat I will pour in some extra cream to thin it up a bit. This was very easy to make and for the effort was really quite delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
My husband and I love Indian food- and this was definitely a keeper for us. I listened to the suggestions and only put 1 teaspoon of salt in the sauce and marinade. If you can marinade for more than an hour- it helps the chicken soak in the flavour. Great with naan and basmati rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
As everyone else has said, don't add the salt. I put in a few turns of my sea salt grinder and that's it. Also, I use a combination of cinnamon, cumin and garam masala as others have suggested. I sometimes substitute a quarter of a green bell pepper minced in place of the jalapeno because my wife doesn't like it as spicy. Make sure you don't add the chicken to the sauce too early or it will get way too dry. I serve over jasmine or basmati rice with naan. Its always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This has been a staple in our house for a couple of years. We leave the salt in the marinade, and salt to taste at the table instead of the called for amount. This is by far our favorite home cooked meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Too much salt!! I will make it again with way less salt and it will be just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Only used 1 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I made the marinade without reading the reviews. I marinated the chicken overnight. It was too salty and too spicy to eat! I tried to fix it by rinsing some of the marinade off. I also broiled the chicken rather than grill it. I made the sauce without any salt. I will look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrk In Progres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
wow! I frequent an Indian Restaurant often just for this dish - this turned out as good/better than theirs - super impressed - I did only use 1/2 of a jalepeno and the heat (for me) was perfect! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
What a great recipe! Made it just as written ( I always try to do that the first time I use a recipe and tweak it if needed the next time I make it ) and this needed no improving. It had perfect balance of richness and spice. It's comparable to my favorite local Indian Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States