Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very good - my husband gives it a 5 but I would say 4 so if I could I'd rate it 4.5. I would not say it was "bland" but next time I will season up the chicken and let it marinate a bit before cooking. The sauce was very tasty but the chicken not so much. Use good tomatoes with lots of flavor (home grown like I did or Cento brand canned tomatoes are very flavorful as well). I used a Sauvignon Blanc that worked well, very subtle. I did not measure the fresh rosemary but seemed to have used the right amount, it was not overwhelming. The only thing I changed was to use butter for sauteeing the mushrooms with 2 extra cloves of minced garlic. I followed the recipe exactly from that point except for whisking a couple of tiny shakes of Wondra into the sauce at the end to thicken it just a bit (after removing the chicken). I used bone in thighs and removed the skin before cooking. The sauce was delicious and the chicken was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
My family loved this! I did use canned diced tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes. I also served it over brown rice. We loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
It was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I changed this recipe a bit so hopefully no one will accuse me that I made it a completely different recipe, but I felt that it may make it better. I dipped the thigs in flower then egg then breadcrumbs as many other recipes call for and then followed as specified. I cooked this in wine/ vermouth mixture. Tend to use vermouth more than traditional white wine b/c it has a crispier flavor. The breadcrumbs made it absorb the liquid quickly so unfortunately I kept having to add more wine and was required flip chicken over a lot so it would not stick. However, after doing so I thought it came out great and BF liked it as well so I was happy. The wine taste was really nice not over bearing. I used pitted olives and overall I didn't have any complaints, the flavors of the olives, mushrooms, wine, and tomatos really did make this worth while and would definitely try this combination of flavors again. A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
While this is edible, it did not make me want to do this again, followed the directions with no changes, used a very good wine and just didn't have the excitement I thought it would have. As an other reviewer said it just isn't worth an hours + wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
The rosemary taste was far too strong for my liking. The wine you use also seriously influences the taste. I imagine if the wine I used was a little higher quality, this dish may have tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Great flavor, the gravy was a little runny, and I will use pitted olives and chicken breasts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda W.
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it just isn't something that I would make again. I don't really like chicken thighs, I find them very fatty, so maybe if your substitue chicken breasts it would be better. I would recommend using high quality wine as you can really taste it in the chicken. Be careful how much rosemary you use. That may have been the problem with mine. I didn't have any fresh so I used 1 tbsp dried instead. All in all it wasn't worth the hour wait plus prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croghan, New York, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I was worried I was going to have a disaster on my hands! My Fricassee was simmering on the stove (smelling fantastic, by the way!) when the phone rang. Needed to tend to an emergency. I put the "not quite cooked" chicken in the refrigerator and off I went. Didn't return until well after midnight. Not in the mood to cook at that hour. Well, last night (sans emergencies) I put the dish back on the stove, brought it to a simmer, added the tomatoes and olives, and cooked it about 10 minutes more. It was perfect! Delicious! Served it over egg noodles. The only thing I did different was to add a few more mushrooms. Gracias, Senorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Great recipe, I cut down the olive oil by two tbsp and used skinless thigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States