Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This turned out very well. I did not have any fresh Rosemary so I used some dried from my spice rack. I also did not have any cherry tomatoes so I just cut up some roma tomatoes and threw them in there. I also did not have the Nicoise olives and would have forgot to put them in anyway as I didn't even notice them on the recipe until after I'd made the dinner! Very simple dinner to make if you follow the recipe directions. I usually do not eat chicken thighs but was getting tired of eating the chicken breasts all the time and decided to try thighs out for once, and this was definately a good recipe to spice them up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Simply delicious! Use skinless thighs to lower the calories and heighten the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Very good recipe! I followed it exactly and my family loved it. I'll do it again because it was a hit and an easy choice to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWRAWLS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
The chicken was very tender... fall off the bone tender! The sauce was good, but could have used a little more "punch"... I agree it could be spiced a little better to balance out how rich it is. I would make this recipe again, with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Skipped the olives & tomatoes, didn't have any, and the recipe didn't suffer. Was nice served over couscous. We really enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abconover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This recipe turned out very well, with a few changes. I used twice the amount of mushrooms (Crimini) and sauteed with 6 cloves of garlic. I sauteed the chicken only with salt and pepper. Deglazed the pan with 1 cup white wine and 1/3 cup chicken broth. Added the mushrooms and garlic back into the pan with 1 tsp. dried Rosemary, parsley, and a touch each of thyme and red chili flakes.I used grape tomatoes, and no olives. This dish was great served over pasta. Thanks, senorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very good - my husband gives it a 5 but I would say 4 so if I could I'd rate it 4.5. I would not say it was "bland" but next time I will season up the chicken and let it marinate a bit before cooking. The sauce was very tasty but the chicken not so much. Use good tomatoes with lots of flavor (home grown like I did or Cento brand canned tomatoes are very flavorful as well). I used a Sauvignon Blanc that worked well, very subtle. I did not measure the fresh rosemary but seemed to have used the right amount, it was not overwhelming. The only thing I changed was to use butter for sauteeing the mushrooms with 2 extra cloves of minced garlic. I followed the recipe exactly from that point except for whisking a couple of tiny shakes of Wondra into the sauce at the end to thicken it just a bit (after removing the chicken). I used bone in thighs and removed the skin before cooking. The sauce was delicious and the chicken was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
My family loved this! I did use canned diced tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes. I also served it over brown rice. We loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
It was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I changed this recipe a bit so hopefully no one will accuse me that I made it a completely different recipe, but I felt that it may make it better. I dipped the thigs in flower then egg then breadcrumbs as many other recipes call for and then followed as specified. I cooked this in wine/ vermouth mixture. Tend to use vermouth more than traditional white wine b/c it has a crispier flavor. The breadcrumbs made it absorb the liquid quickly so unfortunately I kept having to add more wine and was required flip chicken over a lot so it would not stick. However, after doing so I thought it came out great and BF liked it as well so I was happy. The wine taste was really nice not over bearing. I used pitted olives and overall I didn't have any complaints, the flavors of the olives, mushrooms, wine, and tomatos really did make this worth while and would definitely try this combination of flavors again. A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States