Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This recipe turned out very well, with a few changes. I used twice the amount of mushrooms (Crimini) and sauteed with 6 cloves of garlic. I sauteed the chicken only with salt and pepper. Deglazed the pan with 1 cup white wine and 1/3 cup chicken broth. Added the mushrooms and garlic back into the pan with 1 tsp. dried Rosemary, parsley, and a touch each of thyme and red chili flakes.I used grape tomatoes, and no olives. This dish was great served over pasta. Thanks, senorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I changed this recipe a bit so hopefully no one will accuse me that I made it a completely different recipe, but I felt that it may make it better. I dipped the thigs in flower then egg then breadcrumbs as many other recipes call for and then followed as specified. I cooked this in wine/ vermouth mixture. Tend to use vermouth more than traditional white wine b/c it has a crispier flavor. The breadcrumbs made it absorb the liquid quickly so unfortunately I kept having to add more wine and was required flip chicken over a lot so it would not stick. However, after doing so I thought it came out great and BF liked it as well so I was happy. The wine taste was really nice not over bearing. I used pitted olives and overall I didn't have any complaints, the flavors of the olives, mushrooms, wine, and tomatos really did make this worth while and would definitely try this combination of flavors again. A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I am giving this a five even though I changed it a bit. I followed it using bone in chk. theighs, but added Italain sausage. I left out red pepper since fiance doesn't like it and used dried Italian seasoning. (Even though I prefer using fresh) I added about 1/4 more wine. I used a $3 bottle of Mathew Fox, which came out great. I was in the mood for mashed potatoes so I reduced the sauce at the end with corn starch and water. (If you do this, plan to increase the sauce to ab. triple) I used the gravey to cover the chicken and sausage and of course mashed potatoes. I had no tomatoes and do not like olives so I left them out. Anyhow, it had such a wonderful flavor. Now I can make two diiferent meals, one with comforting gravey and one with an elegant wine sauce over pasta. I sugest yo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I was worried I was going to have a disaster on my hands! My Fricassee was simmering on the stove (smelling fantastic, by the way!) when the phone rang. Needed to tend to an emergency. I put the "not quite cooked" chicken in the refrigerator and off I went. Didn't return until well after midnight. Not in the mood to cook at that hour. Well, last night (sans emergencies) I put the dish back on the stove, brought it to a simmer, added the tomatoes and olives, and cooked it about 10 minutes more. It was perfect! Delicious! Served it over egg noodles. The only thing I did different was to add a few more mushrooms. Gracias, Senorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was delicious!!! Even the leftovers were great! Some slight changes due to what I had on hand. I used bone in, skin off thighs, dried rosemary (1 TBL), no red pepper (little kids) and a regular chopped tomato. I cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe. I have made it twice. My advice is to use a decent bottle of wine, $8-$12, it is a huge factor in the overall flavor of the dish. My favorite has been Manta, a Chilean sauvignon blanc. There should be very little liquid left if this is prepared correctly. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Excellent dish!!! We made this minus the olives and used dried rosemary, all else remained consistant with instructions. My wife is not a fan of dark meat, but absolutely loved this dish. We will definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
SUPER! I used boneless thighs. I did'nt have fresh rosemary, so used dried and sprinkled generously over chicken before browning. My husband said he'd "owe me" for such a great meal. I'll be thinking and thanking you tonight Senorita Pupnstuff!!!!! Leah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was good. I didn't have the tomatoes or olives on hand, so I didn't use them. The only other problem that I had was the dish was very salty. I will use again, but tinker with it a bit. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Great recipe, I cut down the olive oil by two tbsp and used skinless thigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States