Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This recipe turned out very well, with a few changes. I used twice the amount of mushrooms (Crimini) and sauteed with 6 cloves of garlic. I sauteed the chicken only with salt and pepper. Deglazed the pan with 1 cup white wine and 1/3 cup chicken broth. Added the mushrooms and garlic back into the pan with 1 tsp. dried Rosemary, parsley, and a touch each of thyme and red chili flakes.I used grape tomatoes, and no olives. This dish was great served over pasta. Thanks, senorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very good - my husband gives it a 5 but I would say 4 so if I could I'd rate it 4.5. I would not say it was "bland" but next time I will season up the chicken and let it marinate a bit before cooking. The sauce was very tasty but the chicken not so much. Use good tomatoes with lots of flavor (home grown like I did or Cento brand canned tomatoes are very flavorful as well). I used a Sauvignon Blanc that worked well, very subtle. I did not measure the fresh rosemary but seemed to have used the right amount, it was not overwhelming. The only thing I changed was to use butter for sauteeing the mushrooms with 2 extra cloves of minced garlic. I followed the recipe exactly from that point except for whisking a couple of tiny shakes of Wondra into the sauce at the end to thicken it just a bit (after removing the chicken). I used bone in thighs and removed the skin before cooking. The sauce was delicious and the chicken was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
My family loved this! I did use canned diced tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes. I also served it over brown rice. We loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
It was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I changed this recipe a bit so hopefully no one will accuse me that I made it a completely different recipe, but I felt that it may make it better. I dipped the thigs in flower then egg then breadcrumbs as many other recipes call for and then followed as specified. I cooked this in wine/ vermouth mixture. Tend to use vermouth more than traditional white wine b/c it has a crispier flavor. The breadcrumbs made it absorb the liquid quickly so unfortunately I kept having to add more wine and was required flip chicken over a lot so it would not stick. However, after doing so I thought it came out great and BF liked it as well so I was happy. The wine taste was really nice not over bearing. I used pitted olives and overall I didn't have any complaints, the flavors of the olives, mushrooms, wine, and tomatos really did make this worth while and would definitely try this combination of flavors again. A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
While this is edible, it did not make me want to do this again, followed the directions with no changes, used a very good wine and just didn't have the excitement I thought it would have. As an other reviewer said it just isn't worth an hours + wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
The rosemary taste was far too strong for my liking. The wine you use also seriously influences the taste. I imagine if the wine I used was a little higher quality, this dish may have tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Great flavor, the gravy was a little runny, and I will use pitted olives and chicken breasts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda W.
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it just isn't something that I would make again. I don't really like chicken thighs, I find them very fatty, so maybe if your substitue chicken breasts it would be better. I would recommend using high quality wine as you can really taste it in the chicken. Be careful how much rosemary you use. That may have been the problem with mine. I didn't have any fresh so I used 1 tbsp dried instead. All in all it wasn't worth the hour wait plus prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croghan, New York, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I was worried I was going to have a disaster on my hands! My Fricassee was simmering on the stove (smelling fantastic, by the way!) when the phone rang. Needed to tend to an emergency. I put the "not quite cooked" chicken in the refrigerator and off I went. Didn't return until well after midnight. Not in the mood to cook at that hour. Well, last night (sans emergencies) I put the dish back on the stove, brought it to a simmer, added the tomatoes and olives, and cooked it about 10 minutes more. It was perfect! Delicious! Served it over egg noodles. The only thing I did different was to add a few more mushrooms. Gracias, Senorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States