Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe, except added frozen corn and green beans and omitted the canned corn, since i don't really care for canned vegetables, but It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcella
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
It was good... Changed a few things but used the recipe for the basics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is a GREAT recipe. Mt husband and 5 year old son loved it. My 5 year old said it was "yummy". I will be making this again and again, great recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Love this recipe! We don't use the bacon, and instead of cooking thighs I use a whole rotisserie chicken. Creamed corn is also yummy in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is a pretty good recipe. The only thing I did different was to use pre-cooked bacon, so there was no bacon grease (my husband hates anything cooked with bacon grease). It was very tasty the first time around but is not great as a leftover. The dumplings get too gloppy and the chicken too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Wow, family loved this chicken stew, what I loved...Not chopping veggies for 30 minutes just threw everything in the pan. I did not have all the ingredients on hand so my substitutions were boneless chicken breast, frozen corn and broccoli, no butter, no cream. I used 2 chicken bouillon cubes and quart of water with 2 small cans of cream of celery soup and for spices I used cumin and coriander. This will be made again and again over the winter! Quick, easy and hearty with the biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Added a few more veggies, and used pancake mix but other than that followed the recipe and it turned out great! We loved it. It did take 20 min to cook the dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made a few changes according to what I had on hand. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs that I browned in a wide Dutch oven with a bit of butter, then let them rest/cool/chop while I cooked 4 slices thick bacon, then took them out to cool/chop while cooking the veggie mixture in the drippings. I found this an easier way for a one pot meal. I misread and just added the bacon and chicken in together, and it tasted pretty good this way. I used cream of celery soup and salt free chicken broth. Grocery store was out of biscuits so I used Bisquick for dumplings (2 cups bisquick 2/3 cup milk) and simmered them covered on top of stew for 15 minutes. I like the wide Dutch oven for this because there is more surface area for the dumplings to steam. I also added a bit of dried herbs (bay leaf, thyme, onion powder, garlic powder,sage, poultry seasoning). I will make again without bacon and maybe add some peas. Great comforting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I really like this recipe, the first time I made it the dumplings were gooey, but the trick is you have to cook it longer until the dumplings are well formed to get a nice solid dumpling, my family loves this recipe. If you get the butter favored pills bury biscuits it has a nice buttery flavory making it extra tasty. I also add a little celery salt, dried onion and garlic to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I followed the recipe but the dumplings were kind of gloppy somehow. This seems like a pretty basic recipe and over all the stew tasted good as I love just about anything with dark meat in it. It was very flavorful, but I thought that it tasted best right after cooking. It did not taste as good as leftovers. My toddler did not like it and my husband passed on it as well. I probably will not make this again due to lukewarm reception by family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States