Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I did everything in here wrong and it was still delicious. By doing everything wrong I mean I used olive oil instead of butter, omitted the bacon, increased the amount of thighs, put the whole thighs in instead of pulling the meat off, just used onion and garlic for vegetables, kept the same amount of liquids as for the smaller amount, used a smaller can of cream of chicken soup, used half-and-half instead of full cream, stirred in frozen corn and cooked the whole thing in a wok. It was delicious and kid friendly. My whole family ate it. It took me along time to cook but it requires very little attention. One thing though, it is not one the diet approved list. I can feel my arteries clogging as I type. It is a wonderful easy winter meal. If you are not particularly kitchen skilled (as I am not) you can impress someone with relatively little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cola, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is a good basic recipe and I didn't think it was difficult at all. The only thing I didn't like about was the biscuits as dumplings. I thought they made the whole thing too sweet and "heavy". I will make this again, but will make my own dumplings, or I'll just add cooked, cubed potatoes at the end instead of the biscuits for a "chowdery" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Oh, this is really good. I made a couple minor tweaks... I just mix the bacon right in, I skip the heavy cream entirely, and use a larger can of corn. I find that it never takes the 10 minutes the recipe says it should take for the dumplings to be done -- it's always a minimum of 20 minutes, often more. But that's OK, it's worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Fantastic! I substituted some cream of celery for one of the cream of chickens and left out the corn. I also made homemade biscuits to drop in. The flavors of this soup are divine, it made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was by far the BEST chicken and dumplings I've had. Alot of the recipes on here includes no veggies in them and this one does! I boiled the thighs for 30 min instead of browning them. I also used chicken broth since that's what I had on hand and made the dumplings with bisquick instead of using canned biscuits. My husband and son kept saying how yummy it was. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
loved it, I finally have a recipe for dumplings that taste wonderful, not bland or too greasy, as well as quite easy to make. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Really enjoyed this recipe. The vegetable stock keeps this stew from being too "chicken-y". I cut the prep time by buying a store roasted chicken and cubing the meat. I also added 1T fresh chopped thyme while the onion mixture sauteed. The bacon adds a nice crunch but I think using the entire 8 slices would be overwhelming and too salty. I just sprinkled the bacon pieces sparingly. I also used peas instead of corn. Adaptable for a variety of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This recipe is "Really Good". It was a huge it with my family and I will be putting it in my favorite recipe box. Easy to prepare and outstanding flavors! This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
this dish is a little more work than some of the similar recipes but the results are outstanding. my sons and their wives come over every sunday to eat the old mans cooking and they all enjoyed the meal and took home the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
WOW! This recipe is sooooo yummy! Very filling, tasty, great for cold weather. My 16 month old is very taken with it as well. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States