Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
this dish is a little more work than some of the similar recipes but the results are outstanding. my sons and their wives come over every sunday to eat the old mans cooking and they all enjoyed the meal and took home the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
loved it, I finally have a recipe for dumplings that taste wonderful, not bland or too greasy, as well as quite easy to make. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is a good basic recipe and I didn't think it was difficult at all. The only thing I didn't like about was the biscuits as dumplings. I thought they made the whole thing too sweet and "heavy". I will make this again, but will make my own dumplings, or I'll just add cooked, cubed potatoes at the end instead of the biscuits for a "chowdery" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Fantastic! I substituted some cream of celery for one of the cream of chickens and left out the corn. I also made homemade biscuits to drop in. The flavors of this soup are divine, it made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
My entire family enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This recipe is "Really Good". It was a huge it with my family and I will be putting it in my favorite recipe box. Easy to prepare and outstanding flavors! This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Weird dish to make on a hot summer night, but I had leftover chicken, homemade stock and I was in the mood for some comfort food. This certainly hit the spot! I did leave out the corn and used Bisquick to make my dumplings. Added in a few more seasonings and some dill. Can't wait to have this for lunch today. Thank you Averyfern!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Oh, this is really good. I made a couple minor tweaks... I just mix the bacon right in, I skip the heavy cream entirely, and use a larger can of corn. I find that it never takes the 10 minutes the recipe says it should take for the dumplings to be done -- it's always a minimum of 20 minutes, often more. But that's OK, it's worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Loved this recipe!! My husband loves the canned chicken corn chowder but when he tasted this he was even more in love with my cooking!! I also just added the bacon right in and I added a shredded chicken breast as well because I like my stews full of meat. Dumplings def take longer than 10 minutes. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My family LOVED this! Very good. I also threw the bacon right in (as others did) and I used the Bisquick Dumpling recipe (from the box) since I forgot to buy the biscuits. Will definitely make this again. Note: had the leftovers for lunch, adding a little water before putting in the microwave (the dumplings soak up a lot of the liquid). I think it tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States