Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I liked this recipe, but my husband thought it was a bit on the bland side. Maybe next time, I'll use chicken stock instead of veggie broth. I didn't use the refrigerated biscuits to make the dumplings. Instead, I opted to use Bisquick. I was also short on time, so I just cut the chicken prior to cooking, so it was in bite sized chunks, instead of shredding or pulling it apart after cooking. My kids are very picky eaters and it was kind of split between them liking it. Overall, I would definitely make it again, but try to give it a bit more flavor next time (for my husband).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I used this as a guide to make my own version. I didn't have some of the ingredients so this is what I did. I did not use bacon or the dumplings. I served whole wheat dinner rolls instead. I didn't have corn so I used up the remaining frozen mixed veggies I had in the freezer. I didn't have cream soup so I used a 14oz can of light coconut milk instead of the cream soup or the heavy cream. Added smoked paprika and thyme and pepper. It was delicious!!! My kids ate it without complaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was by far the BEST chicken and dumplings I've had. Alot of the recipes on here includes no veggies in them and this one does! I boiled the thighs for 30 min instead of browning them. I also used chicken broth since that's what I had on hand and made the dumplings with bisquick instead of using canned biscuits. My husband and son kept saying how yummy it was. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My 16 year old enjoyed this and asked for it again. Really tasty, easy and comforting!! Great family recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a really good recipe! I remember my mother making this growing up, but she didnt use fresh veggies (I prefer fresh veggies). This made me feel so warm inside on a cold NY winter day! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Excellent recipe although I used fewer carrots and added a few peas and mushrooms. It tends to lose a lot of the sauciness if it's left to stand or needs reheating. I would add a little more liquid (milk or cream) next time. Also, there is no way it makes that many servings. I think it might feed only 2 adults with hearty appetites, so be sure to double or triple it if you have a family to feed. It's delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Excellent, I've made this several times now. My family doesn't like any soups or stews and they gobble this up. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very good. I didn't use bacon or corn since we didnt have any. I added some white wine and thyme and used frozen biscuits instead of canned because they taste so much better. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was so good! I did replace the corn with some fresh peas I had in the fridge and I used Bisquick cheddar cheese dumplings because I didn't have the biscuits in a can. I cut the recipe in half, because it was just me and my husband but it's so good reheated the next day, I'll be making the full recipe from now on. I'll also make more sauce/gravy because the Bisquick dumplings soaked up a lot of it and that was a really nice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this recipe just as directed and it was quite good, however I quote reviewer "Karen" that pre-baking the dumplings in the oven a little would be better. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Doubtfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States