Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Another wonderful stew. Except for baking the chicken I stuck to the script (although I always end up baking the whole dutch oven whenever there are dumplings to finish). Its just so amazingly addictive; this hearty stew will probably not even make it to the fridge for leftovers ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I husband loved this, he went back for seconds and ate the rest for lunch the next day. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I used half & half in place of the heavy cream and omitted bacon (only because of time constraints) and this recipie was DELICIOUS. The refrigerated biscuit dough had me a little concerned but I found Pillsbury Simply which have less "junk" in them. The biscuits make dumplings so easy! I will be serving this to company & I'm sure the recipie will be asked for. Thank you for making me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MumZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Loved this recipe. Quick anxd easy. Used steamed leftovers corn and added green beans as a sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmoses

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Fabulous, quick and easy. I thickened the stew with flour before adding the biscuits and that was unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This really has a good flavor. Everyone in the family loved it. There is a lot of prep work involved in the chopping but it is worth it. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was excellent but I was in a hurry so I left the thighs whole. Next time I will take the time to take off the meat but I think this would be best served without the dumplings (although my husband loved them and I use flour tortillas cut in bite-size pieces and cooked in the sauce until they are soft). I am thinking this would be great over toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My whole family loves this. Comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
That was outstanding! I will use potatoes as well next time just because I love bacon and potatoes together in winter, and serve rolls on side instead of dumplings. I also used fat-free half and half, olive oil and rotissarie chicken. The thighs took forever to pan fry so I cheated:) Overall excellent flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
so delicious, my 2 year old son said it was amazing! we did add more veggies too; peas and green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States