Chicken Thigh and Dumpling Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is a super yummy stew, and ranks among our all time favorite recipes from this site. We used bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs to add flavor to the chicken drippings, and sprinkled them with Creole Seasoning Blend by Joslyn (from this site); skin was removed after cooking. Used a 15-1/4 ounce can whole kernel sweet corn instead of 8-3/4 ounce can. Subbed 1 can (12 oz.) evaporated milk for 1/2 cup heavy cream and omitted 1 cup water. A really great recipe, averyfern, and thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Very good! Will be a mainstay in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Odessa, Michigan, USA
Living In: Two Rivers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Okay, okay I cheated - kind of alot. I was in a rush. I cooked the chicken through as directed, did not use the bacon at all, used chicken broth in lieu of vegetable broth. I had no carrots, red onions or celery which I'm sure would have made it even more phenomenal. Instead, I used a half bag of frozen pearl onions. Oh geez, I just looked forgot to add the corn too. I told you I cheated, but I also used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream too. FINALLY, I used 3 1/2 pounds of chicken thighs and used chicken broth instead of the water too. Figured it would be more flavor. I didn't have time to run to store for biscuits, so I simply used 2 1/4 cups Bisquick and 2/3 cup half and half and dropped them just the same. SUCH A BIG HIT WITH FAMILY! 10 decent sized thighs and there's only one half of a thigh and one half of a biscuit left and that's for 4 of us! I seriously wouldn't be surprised if my family asked for it again tomorrow. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Yum!! DELICOUS!!! Used the recipe but made own dumplings from the Cracker Barrel recipe. 2 c. flour, 1/2 t. each baking soda and salt, 3 T. butter (or crisco), and 3/4 c. buttermilk. Add after cream, soup, and water. Simmer 12 - 15 minutes. Add chicken. Then serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
By popular demand I've made this recipe three times in the last month!! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anicom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was eaten up, but just not as good as my normal chicken and dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
5+ stars from my crew! Chicken thighs are my favorite cut to cook with as they are super cheap and flavorful! I think from a preparation perspective there are easier ways to make this soup, but the end result was a huge hit; my husband woke up the next morning still talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Made it almost according to the recipe (used whole milk instead of cream, and used Bisquick to make the dumplings). My husband LOVED it, has named it one of his all-time favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Another wonderful stew. Except for baking the chicken I stuck to the script (although I always end up baking the whole dutch oven whenever there are dumplings to finish). Its just so amazingly addictive; this hearty stew will probably not even make it to the fridge for leftovers ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States