Chicken Texas Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This chicken was excellent for us...and even the kids. I took all the seeds out of the jalapenos except for one so it wouldn't be too spicy. Only problem: The bacon turned out soggy, so I broiled both top and bottom, but the sides were soggy. Maybe next time I'll try to cook the bacon a bit first OR maybe not even roll up the chicken and just put everything on top of the chicken, then broil...the bacon will be more evenly cooked. The combination of all the flavors was great. I definitely recommend it...don't be afraid of the jalapenos if you don't like it spicy...just take out most seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I really loved this recipe! It was quick and easy to put together. Thanks Maggie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe!!!! Everyone enjoyed this chicken dish very much. My package of chicken only had 3 in it so I cut the recipe down to suit 3 instead of 4. After having a difficult time rolling up the first one without all the stuff inside falling out I flattened the other two with a meat mallett and that made it a little easier. I had a couple of holes from butterflieng and pounding the chicken but nothing fell out!! I rubbed the ranch dressing into the chicken then topped with cheese, pickled jalapeno slices, and the roma tomato slices. I then placed the flattened chicken ontop of the two pieces of bacon at one end of the bacon and kinda rolled it up and wrapped it at the same time!! It worked out quite well only a little but of the "stuffing" fell out. After placing the stuffed & wrapped chicken in a baking dish I sprinkled the rest of the ranch seasoning packet on top. I did remove the foil and placed the chicken on a broiler rack and upped the temp to 400 to crisp the bacon up. It turned out sooooo good. I wish I had made more than just 3. Thanks for the unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Loved this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I thought this was quite tasty. I pounded the chicken pieces but after putting all the ingredients on the chicken, I couldn't get them to roll up so I just laid them out flat and baked the chicken that a way. It still turned out well. I did cook the bacon a little first in the microwave oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I HAVE TO THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!(: You see, I had to think of a chicken dish for my home economics examination.. and this popped up in my head! Thank you very, very much, for a lovely tasting and absolutely delightlful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
AWESOME!!! My family loved it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This was absolutely amazing. It tastes much more complex than it was to make! I made it for dinner with friends and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My husband loves this dish. I am not a fan of Ranch dressing, but I enjoyed it as well. I cooked the bacon before baking the chicken and stuck everything in the middle of the chicken to save on the mess. Next time I think I will put some type of breading on the chicken to dress it up a bit...it looked a little bit boring without the bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This is excellant, I did partially cook the bacon. I also used half pepper jack cheese with the other cheese and left out the jalapeno's. Broiled at the end. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States