Chicken Texas Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This chicken was excellent for us...and even the kids. I took all the seeds out of the jalapenos except for one so it wouldn't be too spicy. Only problem: The bacon turned out soggy, so I broiled both top and bottom, but the sides were soggy. Maybe next time I'll try to cook the bacon a bit first OR maybe not even roll up the chicken and just put everything on top of the chicken, then broil...the bacon will be more evenly cooked. The combination of all the flavors was great. I definitely recommend it...don't be afraid of the jalapenos if you don't like it spicy...just take out most seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I thought this was quite tasty. I pounded the chicken pieces but after putting all the ingredients on the chicken, I couldn't get them to roll up so I just laid them out flat and baked the chicken that a way. It still turned out well. I did cook the bacon a little first in the microwave oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This was absolutely amazing. It tastes much more complex than it was to make! I made it for dinner with friends and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe!!!! Everyone enjoyed this chicken dish very much. My package of chicken only had 3 in it so I cut the recipe down to suit 3 instead of 4. After having a difficult time rolling up the first one without all the stuff inside falling out I flattened the other two with a meat mallett and that made it a little easier. I had a couple of holes from butterflieng and pounding the chicken but nothing fell out!! I rubbed the ranch dressing into the chicken then topped with cheese, pickled jalapeno slices, and the roma tomato slices. I then placed the flattened chicken ontop of the two pieces of bacon at one end of the bacon and kinda rolled it up and wrapped it at the same time!! It worked out quite well only a little but of the "stuffing" fell out. After placing the stuffed & wrapped chicken in a baking dish I sprinkled the rest of the ranch seasoning packet on top. I did remove the foil and placed the chicken on a broiler rack and upped the temp to 400 to crisp the bacon up. It turned out sooooo good. I wish I had made more than just 3. Thanks for the unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
over all, great dinner. i cooked the bacon half way before wrapping it around the chicken and it was perfect. flavors were great together, tastes much better the next day! i also put olives inside along with the cheese, pepper, and tomato.. it added a great taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ona, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madam grizzle
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I baked this the full hour, but never covered it, the bacon came out crispy without broiling, like others suggested. The chicken was moist, but the breasts were HUGE, like 12 to 16 ounces each. Very yummy. Being in the restaurant business for 20 years, I knew the bacon would be soggy if baked with a cover. Nice, simple recipe. thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed the flavor profile of this recipe. It was also super-simple to put together. However, leaving these in the oven for the time states made my chicken BONE dry. I will try these again, but I'll be sure to start checking for doneness at least 15 minutes earlier than the recipe instructs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I HAVE TO THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!(: You see, I had to think of a chicken dish for my home economics examination.. and this popped up in my head! Thank you very, very much, for a lovely tasting and absolutely delightlful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We loved this recipe! Very tasty blend of flavors! Followed some of the other reviewers advice and uncovered, drained bacon grease and then broiled for 5 mins to crisp the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTAPIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corrales, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My husband loves this dish. I am not a fan of Ranch dressing, but I enjoyed it as well. I cooked the bacon before baking the chicken and stuck everything in the middle of the chicken to save on the mess. Next time I think I will put some type of breading on the chicken to dress it up a bit...it looked a little bit boring without the bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States