Chicken Texas Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe!!!! Everyone enjoyed this chicken dish very much. My package of chicken only had 3 in it so I cut the recipe down to suit 3 instead of 4. After having a difficult time rolling up the first one without all the stuff inside falling out I flattened the other two with a meat mallett and that made it a little easier. I had a couple of holes from butterflieng and pounding the chicken but nothing fell out!! I rubbed the ranch dressing into the chicken then topped with cheese, pickled jalapeno slices, and the roma tomato slices. I then placed the flattened chicken ontop of the two pieces of bacon at one end of the bacon and kinda rolled it up and wrapped it at the same time!! It worked out quite well only a little but of the "stuffing" fell out. After placing the stuffed & wrapped chicken in a baking dish I sprinkled the rest of the ranch seasoning packet on top. I did remove the foil and placed the chicken on a broiler rack and upped the temp to 400 to crisp the bacon up. It turned out sooooo good. I wish I had made more than just 3. Thanks for the unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My husband loves this dish. I am not a fan of Ranch dressing, but I enjoyed it as well. I cooked the bacon before baking the chicken and stuck everything in the middle of the chicken to save on the mess. Next time I think I will put some type of breading on the chicken to dress it up a bit...it looked a little bit boring without the bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I really loved this recipe! It was quick and easy to put together. Thanks Maggie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Quick easy and delicious. I pre-cooked the bacon before I wrapped it around the chicken. Great flavor. I my boyfriend and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This was absolutely amazing. It tastes much more complex than it was to make! I made it for dinner with friends and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
As a new chef, I am always looking for simple and delicious recipes to make. I am a huge fan of spicy and this recipe really hit the spot; not too spicy but not at all bland. My boyfriend really loved it too. I ran into a few of the same problems other people had: the bacon was not done enough - despite having cooked it prior to putting it in the oven and not being able to roll the chicken but it was delicious all the same. I also added just a few slices of avocado to the inside and it was perfect. Great way to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
over all, great dinner. i cooked the bacon half way before wrapping it around the chicken and it was perfect. flavors were great together, tastes much better the next day! i also put olives inside along with the cheese, pepper, and tomato.. it added a great taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ona, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was very good and even better the next day. I did follow some others advice about cooking the bacon a bit first though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I HAVE TO THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!(: You see, I had to think of a chicken dish for my home economics examination.. and this popped up in my head! Thank you very, very much, for a lovely tasting and absolutely delightlful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Very tasty, and very easy. Depending on how spicy one's family enjoys things, japlepenos can be decreased, or just picked out like a few of mine did in the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States