Chicken Tetrazzini I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
A very heavy, filling dish, but you can't help but love it! Pretty bland, so we kicked it up a bit with a little Worsteshire sauce and some onion amongst other things. Needs to be seasoned to your own liking, but a very good recipe to have on hand and make your own style! Thanks for this one, have made it several times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Onawa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I LOVED THIS RECIPE AND SO DID MY FAMILY. THE SAUCE WAS GREAT AS WELL. THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS ADDING THE WHOLE BOX OF 16 OZ. SPAGHETTI INSTEAD OF HE 12 OZ. I THINK BY ADDING THIS IT MADE THE SAUCE A LITTLE LESS CREAMY. I THINK THE ORIGINAL RECIPE WOULD HAVE BEEN A LITTLE TOO CREAMY, BUT OTHERWISE GREAT RECIPE! I WILL USE IT AGAIN IM SURE!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
My boyfriend and I didn't care for this at all. It was SO bland..even after adding tons of herbs to it. While the chicken was cooking it had such a great aroma, but once I combined everything there wasn't much flavor. I omitted mushrooms since my boyfriend doesn't like them so instead of using regular cream of chicken condensed soup I used a can of cream of chicken and mushroom. I added lots more garlic and way more seasonings and herbs. I also used egg noodles instead of spaghetti. I was very disappointed. This was my first time ever tasting chicken tetrazzini and making it. I wasn't impressed. Sorry. I think next time I will try the other recipes listed that have sherry and other liquids in it for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I loved this and so did my kids. I used low fat cream of chicken soup and low fat sour cream and only half of the amounts of these called for in the recipe. . I also added 2-3 tbs white wine, about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese instead of parm and added a couple tsp of pimentos. Seasoned with garlic salt, onion powder, parsley flakes and salt/pepper. Good Stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This was good but I made a few variations. I also thought that there was too much soup/sour cream mixture so I used only 8 oz. of sour cream. I think once it thickened up in the oven it was perfect. I will make this again but next time I will try putting onion in and using fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I think fresh garlic would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I have made this several times and my family loves it. It has become a regular dish on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I loved this recipe but I made a few changes. I seasoned the whole chicken breasts to my taste (salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder) and seared them on a large skillet until browned, but not cooked through. I removed the chicken and set it aside, and cut it into pieces. I deglazed the pan with a little juice from the mushrooms, and then added 2 TBSP butter and sauted the mushrooms. I then added the chicken pieces back to the skillet. While the pasta was draining, I used the hot pot in which I cooked the pasta to combine 1 can of mushroom soup, 1 can of chicken soup and 8 oz. of sour cream, then I added the pasta back to the pot. I combined this mixture into the chicken and mushrooms, and then put everything in my 2 qt. casserole dish (it almost didn't fit, and had to watch it so it did not boil over). I topped it with the cheese (maybe 1/4 cup) and served it with EZ Drop Biscuits from this site. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AURIE81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This recipe is great - with some major modification. I cannot imagine using two cans of soup. I ommitted one can, only used 12 oz. of light sour cream and the consistancy was perfect. I also added 1/4 cup sherry to the butter when cooking the mushrooms. This flavor masks the canned soup quality and lends more of a from scratch feel to the recipe. Before baking I added 1 1/2 cups Italian seasoned bread crumbs to the top. This creates more of a casserole quality to the dish which we liked. Would probably be very good without it as well. I also liked the suggestion of adding frozen peas. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I cook Tetrazzini for guests all the time. This is a very good and cheap meal that always gets good reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moberly, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sullivan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is great! I will make this once a month for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fortville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States