Chicken Tetrazzini for a Crowd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
My family and I loved this! I scaled it down to serve 4 - 6 people and made a couple of minor changes. Here goes...1/2 pound of spaghetti; 1 can soup; 2 Cups cheese; 2 Cups chicken breast; 1 Cup Broth; 8 oz of sliced mushrooms and 1/4 chopped onion and a pinch of crushed garlic that I sauted in a bit of the broth before adding to the mix. I put 1/2 cup of the cheese on top before baking for 22 minutes. Came out perfect! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hughson, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Now, this is the way Chicken Tetrazinni/Spaghetti is supposed to taste!! And it uses so little salt. The 1 major change I made was the type of chicken used. My family likes white & dark meat, so I boiled/simmered for 2 1/2 hrs. a 6 lb. chicken hen in a broth of water, lots of chopped cel., onion, bell pepp., garl., bl. pepp., and poultry seas. (more trouble but worth it) After removing fat, skin, bones & veggies from the broth, I proceeded w/the rest of the recipe exactly as it was (I also cooked the spag. in the same broth). Thanks for a recipe I'll use for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Fixed this for the first time. Made some adjustments since many reviewers said it was a little bland. Halved the recipe. I used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of celery. I sauteed chopped celery, red onion, chopped garlic, and the mushrooms. Simmered this in some sherry. Used cooked chicken thigh since it's a little tastier than chicken breast. Added a dab of brown mustard and a splash of Worchestshire to the soup mixture. Used whole wheat spaghetti to add some grain to the recipe. Also, covered with crushed cracker and drizzed butter as recommended by reviewers for the last 10 minutes. Yum ... this was delicious!! Thanks for the recipe Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I doubled this recipe for 30 people, wanted some leftovers, well..... Everyone went back for seconds & some went back for thirds!! I did add onion which I cooked with the mushrooms & a small amount of chicken broth & used one can of cream of chicken soup, per batch. Also, put some toasted sliced almonds on the top along with the cheese. Added a nice crunch. Everyone raved about this & it was so easy to make ahead of time. It took about an hour to cook after it was in the frig overnight. I did cover it with foil for the first 1/2 hour & didn't put the cheese & almonds on until the last 15 minutes. I will make this over & over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buda, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This is very tasty. I used linguini noodles instead and added some chopped green and red bell peppers. I'll probally add onions next time. I think it lacks a spice but I'm not sure what. Either way, yummy! The family appreciated the change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe. I put all the cheese in with the soup and then for the top I crush a roll of ritz crackers and cover the top and drizzle with a 1/4 cup of melted butter. Makes a yummy topping. Thanks for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Had no pimentos so I sauted onions, 2 cloves of minced garlic, and the mushrooms. Used one can of cream of chicken and.......the crowd goes wild!!!! Made it for a late buffet at a wedding and it was a hit. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Awesome. I boiled chicken breast in chicken stock while preparing the pasta. I modified a little - I sauteed the mushrooms with chopped onions and a little minced garlic until carmelized. This dish is very good even the next day. Great crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
This was a very quick, easy, and delicious recipe. I made it for my son's school potluck dinner. Everyone seemed to enjoy it, including us. It's even better the next day! I used 2 cans mushroom soup, 1 can cream of chicken soup, and added minced onion and garlic to give the casserole more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
We left out the pimentos and added Durkee French Fried onions to the top before baking--nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOULTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States