Chicken Tequila Fettuccini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I read reviews and decided to go ahead and make adjustments. I added a teaspoon of more minced jalapenos. Instead of soy, I seasoned diced chicken with lime juice, and a home mexican blend of spices. I braised the chicken using a cast iron in the oven. I also used beef stock instead of chicken stock and added white wine vinegar. I added about 1/2 cup of parm cheese to the mix. I gave my family some crushed red pepper flakes and Emeril's Southwest seasoning to add to their plates as desired. While I made a huge meal for my family of 4, there was barely any left! Even with the extra spices I added, my 7 and 12 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloeandhunter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Found the cooking method to produce rubbery chicken, so back to the drawing board I went! 2nd time, I had leftover grilled chicken which I needed to use up and I doubled the cilantro, garlic, jalapeno pepper, stock, tequila, and lime juice which enriched the flavor. Folded in the grilled chicken as the last step and it has now joined the ranks of "favorites" in our household! Thank you Behr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
One word.......YUM!!!! Thanks for a delicious recipe, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I did not have high expectations for this recipe because cream sauces tend to be too rich, but I was pleasantly surprised. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and marinated the chicken before hand (~2-3 hours) in the soy sauce mixed with 2 tbsp of tequila and 2 tbsp of lime juice and I really think that helped add to the flavor. I sauted all the onions and peppers and jalapenos then added the chicken and marinade and sauted that as suggested by other reviewers. The sauce took a while to reduce (I kept upping the burner temp) to accelerate the process. I removed the chicken and peppers from the burner while I waited on the sauce. I reduced the sauce and then added the heavy cream until boiling and then added that to the chicken and peppers until it boiled. I had to add some corn starch to help thicken it so it would not over cook the chicken too much. I enjoyed the flavor, will problem make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I had most of the ingredients so, I decided to give it a whirl. Delicious! I sauteed onions and garlic then added fajita seasoned raw chicken tenders. I added the cilantro and used 1/2 cup of minced pickled jalapenos with 2 Tbsp of the juice. Then I deglazed with almost 1/2 cup of tequila and a cup of chicken broth. I let it cook down and concentrate a little then added a jar of Alfredo sauce, 1/2 tsp each of smoked paprika and cumin. I did not use any soy sauce. Oh, yeah it was yum! Hubby loved it. I'm going shopping for the lime and peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made this exactly to the original recipe, and while it was tasty, it was disappointing. If I hadn't been the one who put them in there, I would not have known there was tequila, or lime, or jalapeno, or cilantro in the sauce. It also kind of lost something with the pasta - in the pan, the sauce was delicious, but all together it was a bit bland. I liked that it came together pretty quickly - I think I had dinner on the table in under an hour - but it generated a lot of dishes. I may make it again, but not on a work night, and not when I'm looking for something with big, bold flavors like I thought this would have. All in all, a tasty pasta dinner, but maybe the name is a little misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cocoemmerich
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe SO many times, and let me just say it is FABULOUS! I do however use more cilantro, garlic, jalapeno, and peppers than it calls for. I also add a cornstarch mixture to the sauce before serving to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoemmerich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was an instant hit at my house. I like bold flavor so I doubled the jalapeno, tequilla, and lime juice, plus tossed in the lime zest just before serving. So Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My husband and I made this recipe as written tonight and thought it was delicious. I will make it again but the only thing I would do differently is either eliminate or severely cut back on the soy sauce. It is a very intense flavor and masks all the beautiful flavors of the tequila and lime; by the end it seemed more like teriyaki fettucine than anything to do with tequila. The next time I make it I will let the chicken sit in tequila and lime juice and add some soy sauce in with the cream, but less than a tablespoon for sure. Otherwise this was a stellar dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wendell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristyRW
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
OMG! I am in love. I made this for my best friends Bday dinner cuz we have both been wanting to try it. It was AMAZING! Like beyond amazing. Its not as heavy as you would think, the lime and cilantro kept it feeling really fresh. I marinated the chicken in the soy sauce and some lime juice and diced it up before cooking. I suggest doing all your prep first and start your water boiling for the pasta right away so its ready to go by the time you add the chicken in. We didnt have jalepenos to add so i put in poblanos. tasted the sauce. no heat but tasted amazing but needed something. so i put in about 8-10 dashes of Cholula hot sauce. That was it! Over the top! MAKE THIS TODAY! You wont be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States