Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This one was a true hit! I was looking for a way to clear out some items in the fridge, freezer and pantry and came across this recipe. The only thing I had to buy was the eggplant. I made the recipe as written - except that I used whole, bone-in chicken thighs (skin removed) - and it was delicious. My only comment is that the recipe says it serves 8. This is either optimistic or based on very light eaters. I served 5 adults and had less than a serving left over. I also made extra couscous for soaking up that incredible sauce. yum, Yum, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steggysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Made as the recipe calls for except I used chicken breast. It turned out great! I'm not sure the carrots added anything to the dish so I may leave those out next time. The eggplant was cooked so long it melted in your mouth! Yum! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe - and boy did it smell incredible while cooking! Based on what I had onhand in the kitchen, I omitted the eggplant, substituted raisins for the cranberries and apricots, and added some potatoes. I also used one onion instead of two because after cutting up one, I thought the slow cooker looked 'oniony' enough. My only comment is that the dish tasted a bit salty for my liking, but that might have been because I didn't have enough lemon juice? On the other hand, my salt-loving husband thought it was just right and has urged me to try it with lamb next time! So there will be a next time!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very tasty and a little different. Freezes well too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Loved this - did some things differently, though. I only had bone-in thighs, so that's how I cooked them (just browned on each side). Also, left out the onions, cranberries and eggplant. Instead I added chickpeas, and a wedge of lemon at the bottom of the pot (alongside the chicken). Served over couscous - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this as written with the addition of chili paste and fresh ginger. I still found it to be bland and in need of salt. It wasn't bad, but it just didn't stand out to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ktAZ
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was a good recipe if you are wanting to try something different! Beware of the eggplant getting a little mushy. I used baby carrots instead of large carrots and it seemed to be just fine, if that is what you have in your fridge. :) This is perfect with couscous on the side too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I have been an allrecipe user for many years and this is the first time that I have had to give a negative review of a recipe. Outside of changing cranberries to golden raisins, I followed the recipe as written. The taste was so bad that I will not be saving the leftovers. I don't know if it was the combination of spices or what, but it was not tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Super winter comfort dish. As others have said, do not overcook this (4-5 hours max on high). I used breast meat b/c I didn't have thighs. I made it with golden raisins and carmelized the onions first, as another reviewer suggested. We do not like couscous, so I served it over brown rice. I like the idea of adding yams; next time, I'll give that a try. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was a nice recipe, I actually cooked mine in a Tagine I got for Xmas this year, so was looking for recipes to try it out in. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Head

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States