Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Was in the mood for something different, so decided to try this. Wonderful! Used chicken breast, as that was all I had on hand. My husband was doubtful - but one bite, and he was lovin' it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
No eggplant - 1/2 bag peas instead. Needs more kick, cayanne? Try turmeric. Made with chicken breast - too dry. 9.5 hrs on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankenmuth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was a great blending of ingredients. The proportions were very nice. I used almost the exact incredients but cooked it completely differently, how I observed similar dishes being cooked while in Morocco. I seasoned the chicken thighs and browned them, added the veggies and browned, then added broth, lemon juice, and tomato paste and fruit and simmered for about 2 1/2 hours. It smelled insanely good and was quickly devoured by all. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This one floored my husband. The flavor is just knock-em-dead fantastic. Don't be distraught by the apparent long list of ingredients - you probably have most in your pantry. I used regular white potatoes, chicken breasts instead of thighs, and a garlic-pine nut couscous. Do not skip the layering process - its important to how the food cooks and the layers blend. Spray the bottom of your crock pot with a little non-stick cooking spray to keep your potatoes from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I am always looking for slow cooker recipes that do not rely on canned soups, and if they have good flavor, even better!. This was quite good - we don't care for eggplant, so I substituted chunked sweet potatoes (actually, yams); I also cut the chicken into slightly larger pieces than the recipe called for. It needed more spice, for our tastes, so will increase those by about half next time I make it, and probably yield to my husband's wishes and add a smidge of powdered hot pepper to heat things up a bit!. Thanks for a very nice addition to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Sorry but my family barely did anything with it. Personally, I thought it was OK but was very disappointed. I hope others will try it and possibly do a custom version. As you know, if my family won't eat it, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnaff9093

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bassett, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was brilliant. Did a few things different. First, I used low-sodium chicken stock instead of broth. Next, I used five garlic cloves and one tsp of salt instead of garlic salt, and about two inches of fresh ginger, chopped up really good, instead of the ground ginger. Finally, I used peeled baby carrots out of the package instead of the large, thinly sliced carrots. Prep took about an hour. Cooked it for eight hours on low. The dish is involved, but is the best, most flavorful recipe used from AllRecipes.com so far. Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This sounds better than it actually is, in my opinion. Truthfully, I found it to be on the bland side, even after adding a dash or two of cayenne to give it some zing. Something's missing that would make the dish score a hit with my palate, and I'm not interested enough to experiment with this dish to try and find out what the missing element could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was very tasty. I didn't have apricots, so used prunes instead. I didn't do anything with the chicken breasts or eggplant beforehand -- just put them in the crockpot uncooked like everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
sooooo good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States