Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Me and my family really enjoyed this recipe! I substatuted ing. With what I had on hand. I used onion powder,[had no fresh]and prunes[had no apricots],and a small can of tomatoe sauce instead of paste. My 3 year old said,"mmm good mom“aft er the first few bites,and my 3,4,and 5 year old boys cleaned their plates. Oh, and I also added the eggplant the last hour of cooking to keep it in tact. My husband liked the cinnamon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I was excited to see a slow cooker recipe which I hoped would be somewhat like the country captain chicken (Racheal Ray's recipe) I make on the stove top. I followed the recipe exactly, and the result was awful! Smelled great, but It was watery, bitter aftertaste, fruit and vegetables were mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Loved the taste. I used frozen chicken legs and thighs (unbrowned) but I browned fresh garlic and the onions. I used fresh ginger and fresh apricots instead of dried. I also found the recipe cooked in about five hours on low in my slow cooker. I expect cooking times vary depending on the type of cooker used. I will increase the spices next time I make this, and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I did sub squash for eggplant but otherwise followed exactly. I don't know what went wrong..the ginger was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I loved this. Added a little hot sauce and used golden raisins instead of cranberries because that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Haven't tried this PARTICULAR recipe, but cut out a similar one from Family Circle magazine and trying to eliminate these random papers and find recipes on this site. This dish is delish, even husband liked though I didn't add the dried fruit to the entire recipe, just my own plate. Served over couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
If you're looking for something different, this is definitely worth a try! I followed the recipe as directed except I did not brown the chicken and eggplant first, just tossed it in raw and it turned out fine. Like other reviewers, I found the eggplant didn't hold up well in the slowcooker. Will be making again, just substituting the eggplant with squash or cauliflower maybe. The sauce seems a bit thin, but resist the urge to thicken it, the couscous absorbs it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Unfortunately, we didd not like this recipe, it did not cook right despite following the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadelta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I give this a 5 star. For being the 1st time trying a morrocan meal, this was great. At the last minutes a friend came over and she couldn't believe how good this was. I recommend it. And ladies if your husbands like trying different meals, they will be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I thought this was delicious. I did not bother to pre-cook the chicken & eggplant. I just chopped it all up and threw it in the slow cooker. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Parkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States