Chicken Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Based on some of the reviews here I made some changes. In place of the Worcestershire sauce, which I really only like on beef, I used some cumin, corriander, chili powder, crushed red pepper, sea salt, and fresh black pepper. I also used fresh lemonade, (real lemons juice, simple syrup and water) and a lot of lime juice. I marinated the chicken in the lemon/lime juice for an hour, and I also simmered it until there was very little liquid left, like others have mentioned. My family really enjoyed it. Although I made some changes, the recipe was a great starting out point. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Added some jalepeno, fresh onion, red and green peppers, and cilantro to the pan after chicken had simmered for a few minutes. It gave it some kick and a great cilantro flavor- even better the next day! If no sour cream is on hand cream cheese is just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Delicious. I made only a few changes. I used 3 - 10.5 oz. cans of white meat chicken instead of breasts. I prefer the canned chicken in mexican food because it breaks apart easier. I added a small chopped yellow onion to the marinade. I used hard taco shells instead of tortillas but next time i will use tortillas. I also cooked the marinade until all of the fluids had cooked off. In the future I think I won't use an entire head of lettuce as I had way too much leftover. Great recipe Tara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is a very nice recipe that the whole family enjoyed. The only thing I changed was I simmered the liquid all the way down. It made it much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This was so easy to make. I wasn't sure about the lemonade, but really it give it a very delicious flavor. My husband really loved them too. The salsa was a great touch! Yum! I can't wait to make them again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I'm very attracted to recipes with unique preparation & ingrediants. So naturally this one caught my eye. The chicken itself was flavorful, but in the tacos it didn't stand out as much due to the other fillings. This recipe is tasty, but needs a little kick to make it stand out more. I didn't use the bay leaves & added more lime juice. To cut out fat, I'll only use 1 tbsp. oil next time. I will also try a more intense, tart lemonade to make the flavor pop. Lastly, I think de-glazing the chicken in the pan would give a more tasty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Wow! So delicious, even my super picky daughter that hates chicken ate her entire taco, and loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, except I doubled it, and now I am wishing I had tripled it because every last bit was eaten right up! So light, fresh and lemon-y, a refreshing change of pace for tacos, and one I will be making again and again, thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Delicious! I did let the chicken simmer until almost all the marinade was gone as suggested by others and it had plenty of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
These were SO good! I was out of Worcestershire sauce, so I used a little soy sauce (not much) in place of it. The recipe didn't say what type of lime juice - I had both - so I used sweetened and it gave it a nice sweet/spicy kick! I also don't use onion powder - I diced up some onion instead for a fresher taste. I use granulated garlic also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I added a little chili powder and black pepper to really bring this recipe to life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Firehouse Chicken and Steak Tacos

See how they make chicken and steak tacos down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States