Chicken Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I love love loved this recipe. By accident I added tablespoons of garlic and onion poweder and it was super good still. This was even better the day after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because while the flavor itself wasn't out of this world the versatility is great. Besides it doesn't need to be super flavorful when you are going to top it with sour cream, salsa and who knows what else. We put the left-overs on rice the next day and it was like a chinese dish because of the sweetness of the chicken. It was pretty good. My "BOOs" liked it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma4Lyfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I was skeptical because so many reviews said that it was bland. I found it to be quite the contrary. However, I did make some modifications (1) I used Simply Lemonade, which happens to be a very, very flavorful, sweet lemonade. Other reviewers used fresh squeezed lemon and/or lime juice or lemon flavored cool-aid. I think using Simply Lemonade made a difference in how flavorful it was (2) I also added additional spices: sea salt, fresh garlic, black pepper, chili powder, a bit of onion powder and half a packet of Adobo saffron seasoning, and added fresh pico de gaillo while cooking which was also used as a topping. I didn't use the worchister sauce. (3) I marinaded the chicken in the lemonade and spices for about 30 minutes. (4)I cooked the chicken in the marinade until it was completely reduced (gone). My chicken was not bland at all. It had a spicy, lemony, sweet flavor that was accented by, the fresh salsa/pico de gaillo and cheese. We don't eat sour cream, so we didn't include that. My husband enjoyed it. I cooked up the second half of the chicken breast on which I was going to use traditional taco seasoning, but my husband told me to use the lemonade instead. Also, the recipe was very easy and quick. I really recommend this recipe. I will definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These are wonderful. We used crispy taco shells and followed the rest of the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natassia521

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
We didn't care for the overwhelming lemonade taste. Nothing like Tex-Mex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
It was okay but a bit lemony for being a taco. I made my lemonade fresh so its possible that was the reason. Still not bad, but not outstanding either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was really delicious. I cooked it until the liquid was gone as other reviewers had recommended and the flavor definitely stands out more. No it does not taste like Mexican tacos, but they were delicious. I did not have sour cream or salsa, but I used mashed avocados and it added that creamy texture. We used soft tacos. Oh yeah, we also doubled the garlic. We will have to double this recipe because we were all wanting more. Yuuummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
So good! I've seen this in my Allrecipes "tried and true" favorites cookbook (orange cover), but never made it - until now! I am sooo glad I gave it a try :) My fiance and I were pleasantly surprised (well, at least me... my fiance thought this was so-so). I pretty much followed the submitter's directions to the letter, but did make a couple of changes to suit my/our tastes. First, as many others have suggested, I too simmered my chicken until there was little sauce/marinade left (about another 10 minutes or so) and added a small handful of chopped cilantro (I chopped too much to use as garnish!). Note: you do not need to shred an entire head of lettuce, nor will you need an entire bag of cheese, jar of salsa or container of sour cream (my gosh!!!). You may need more than one tomato, depending on how big yours are.... Just prep what you need and use the garnishes you like (we topped our tacos with lettuce, tomato, cheese, cilantro, sour cream and salsa - mine with green, my fiance's with traditional 'red' salsa). One more thing to note: If you do not like sweet/savory together, you may not like this; although not overly sweet (like a dessert), there is a slight, yet subtly present sweetness to it. When mixed with the savory toppings, this is barely noticeable (IMHO). Served "tostada-style" with a side of mexican rice, this was a great, quick-fix meal. Thanks for sharing, Boos_Mommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We made the chicken tacos on Friday. They were so good. Everybody liked them. I ate about five tacos.I enjoyed them, to. Im so glad we made these tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was a really good quick easy recipe. I used 2 cans of chicken and I also added about 1/3 cup mild salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Firehouse Chicken and Steak Tacos

See how they make chicken and steak tacos down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States