Chicken Sweet Potato Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Really nice hash style recipe. Only thing I added was some spicy seasoning at the end. Do toast the hazlenuts.. there is a huge difference in thair flavor. Taste some untoasted and then toast some up... so much better toasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made this tonight on a whim to use some sweet potatoes I had. I used some drumsticks instead just because I had them and it was great. It was delicious! I would however make a few adjustments next time. I loved the pears and would add another. I would also double the spinach, since it cooks down so much. Other than that - fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I changed a few things... use apples instead of pears as that was all I had, used Jack Daniels instead of Irish Whiskey, walnuts instead of hazelnuts and used chicken boullion instead of just water. I also tripled the whiskey amount, as my husband and I both love the taste of whiskey and the dish was not overpoweringly whiskey tasting. It was perfect! Absolutely will make again, especially in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I didn't have spinach so added leeks and mushrooms instead. Very tasty! The pear and sage make a lovely difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I doubled the recipe and used leftover cooked chicken. I even made sure to buy hazelnuts for this and toasted them which was very easy to do. This recipe was delicious and a good way of getting a lot of healthy items into my hubbys diet in one dish. Spinach cooked down so much that even more could be added without overpowering the taste of this lovely hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I hate when people rate recipes after they've altered it, but I'm sure the original is just as good, if not better, than the version I made. Based on what I had on hand, I used granny smith apples instead of pears, omitted the whiskey, and used toasted almonds instead of hazelnuts. It was delicious! Next time I will make it as written to see which version is better, but I'll leave the chicken out because I don't think it adds anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Good flavors, but I felt like it was missing some depth. I'll add more whiskey next time and maybe chicken stock instead of water. Wait on adding the pears until just before serving or they start to break down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was great with some sophistication for date night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I couldn't find toasted hazelnuts :(. So we had nothing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Green apples instead of pear works wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States